Note to all users

Make suggestions to improve this site

This has turned out to be quite an emotive issue - must admit i find this site an awesome source of information - not just fishing spots but techniques, bait, rigs etc - its all GOLD no two ways about it.
I am generally happy wo put up the spots that i fish at and catch fish - UNLESS someone else gave them to me - in which case (in my mind at least) they arent mine to give away - so i will continue to post spots i catch fish at that are either spots ive found or are already common knowledge from the FF book. A HUGE % of the fish i catch come from spots straight out of the book - a fact i am extremely grateful to the people who have allowed that info to be made public.
The world map too is a very useful tool and once it becomes a little less cumbersome to use i am confident that i will input some information to it. Currently i find it a bit clunky to work and genrally i dont have time to spend on it - and i unlike some lucky buggers cant log on at work.
Hears hoping that everyone gets what they need out of this site - whichever way it runs.
Im dissappointed with what happened to bear as he is one bloke who offers advcie so openly only to have this "stalking"cr.p happen - and if my info about who it was is correct it is shameful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway thats my 2 bobs worth.

Shane :cheers:

......... i might just add a note that most the post's i've submitted on " back-casts spot of the day " are spot's that i have found in the 12 or so years that i spent on the islands fishing & the info is in relation to those spot's is what i've found to be consistant in the time that i've fished there, a few spot's were discovered by some of the other guides especially in port hurd, shark bay & the jessie, & in the best interest's of the paying customer most information was readilly shared between the guides, so as to give the clients the best possible result on the water,
......... but the Apsley strait is purely due to my time on the water as the majority of the time i was the only guide in that system & i would readilly share infomation with any guides that were new to the area to ensure the customer had the best possible trip, even though i point out spot's you still have to be able to recognize the signs wether there are fish there or not
..........i just wanted to point out i was'nt stealing someone elses hard earnd work

:fishing: :fishing: :fishing: :fishing: :fishing: :fishing: :fishing:

:fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy:
Last edited by back-cast on Tue Sep 18, 2007 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
drifter

Post by drifter »

Just a quick question. Has this been brought about because someone snaked Bear's spot. If it was a guide that did this, it doesn't take long for word to spread & that certainly knocks confidence out of the paying public. :moon: I suspect the leason has been quickly learn't.

The reality is that all of us could be shadowed when we're on the water. It doesn't take an einstein to work out if you have been catching fish. And if your a regular at one river or another, seeing the same blokes cleaning fish or having an esky briming with fish, we may all be in Bear's situation.

However, with all the reports Bear & others have put in over the last 12 months, has this happened to anyone else?

I don't beleive that someone needs to post to show there bonifides. The whole idea of the forum is to setup a growing community. Some like myself come from down south and don't have heaps to contribute (but I'm on here every day reading ALL the posts). Others I'm guessing haven't joined but are regular viewers until they become confident enough that they have something to contribute. While I'm sure others are members that CHOOSE not to log-on.

I will allways have a little to post so the "Post Rule" won't affect me (unless I post about Matt's mum again - then its off to the jailhouse - AGAIN) :mrgreen:

That my 2 bobs worth :cheers:

note

The purpose of everyone posting at least once is that we know who's who in the FFF membership,

I don't expect everyone to post brilliant fishing spots each week, only our Jedi Seadogs do that.

There is a forum option to post southern fishing topics and this is something I want to develop - southern members may want to start contributing if they have nothing to offer in the northern section.

I want to delete zero-post memberships soon because they really are of no use to the forum, asides from making an impressive membership tally.

That way our best members will feel more comfortable about publishing genuine fishing information that makes interesting, informative reading.

The last thing I want is for the forum to become a place full of vague reports that skirt around the facts.

At the end of the day you don't have to be a fishing guru to post, if, like me you are a learner, then all you need to post is questions.

landlocked

Post by landlocked »

well said matt, thats what i thought it was about all along.

punter, the only silly question is the one that isnt asked. go for it.

From the heart of the channel country.
To be old and wise, one has to have been young and stupid !!!
BarraBase

Post by BarraBase »

punter you are a guru to me . :clap: you and bear give us an idear on the rivers that costs us a days drive . keep up the good work .look forward to having a beer :cheers:
Views expressed on this website are those of individuals and do not reflect the opinions of the website owner, or its operators, or other website users

info

The thing that makes this site the enjoyable place that it is is the fact that many members are very helpful and give assistance to novices like myself. I just got back from hols and was game fishing on the old mans boat, it was amazing to hear the level of code and secrecy on the radio with regard to fish sightings and hook ups it was enough to drive you mad they could not even understand themselves. then one old legend came on and said im here (gave location) I have caught two fish this morning and there is heaps of bait around come and join me. He deseves a medal and put all the other clowns to shame. I have fished for many years but Darwin is very diffrent with big tides etc and a little help goes along way. Having said that Matts book is an awesome source of info. To all those members who are so free with their assistance. A BIG THANKs

Pete

harmsey wrote:not sure what sparked this debate but i agree we should all share, but lately it seems like there is only a few of posting actual fishing info,
:cheers: harmsey
i only just stumbled across this thread its pretty old. but i agree with harmsey, it seems the same people posting actual fishing info again an again but with so many members there must be a poop load of people that just come on here reguarly just to find out were they have been biting.
Also wat has happened to bear is disgraceful and i reckon i got a good idea which guide it could be.
the thing is we cant stop people doen this, i guess this is why people are becoming more secretive with their posts. i cant remember reading one of bears in awhile?
mind you when your on the main page it says who is online... i reguarly see the same random names in the "online" list and can't recall any of them ever making a post, these people all know who they are.
i say scrap the guest log on, even tho with a free membership this isn't gonna stop these so called oxygen theives.
sorry if im pouring fuel on a fire that has already gone out.

I know some of them too. They should have something to contibute. Even if it is just saying thanks for the info. :roll: :roll:

........................... these so called non contributors might only be watching or monitoring this forum for Government Department's or Authorities in a hope of catching someone doing or making admissions about things that they deem to be inapropriate or illegal

........................... just remember BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING what you think is meaningless and unoffensive might be taken by the people who make up the rules to suit themselves as wrong and i'm not talking about Matt or the forum staff

......................... SO BEWARE OF THE SILENT ONES

because you might end up with some unwanted attention

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Has happened already Back Cast. :roll: :roll:

andrew.south

Post by andrew.south »

I think some people are watching way to much TV........ :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

As for those that view and dont post... so what!!!!!!!!!!!

Not every one is comfortable posting IMHO...

Or perhaps they are under cover labour party secret agents just waiting to pounce and turn us into a communist regime.....LOL :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Southy

Very rarely when the ship misses the harbour is it the harbours fault

If there is so much concern about BB peeking over the shoulder:
Scrap the "guest" and "hidden" status then ditch anyone with, say, under 10 posts (or whatever number admin deems) at regular intervals.
There are plenty of forums around that only allow registered members on the board, they don't suffer because of it.

My suggestion only, personally I got no problem with it.

dodgyone wrote:Has happened already Back Cast. :roll: :roll:
Yes it did, cost someone as well. A well documented incident (well was at one stage) about biting the hand that feeds it.

As I understand it's routine for Minister's policy officers to keep a check on the more popular forums. Just to keep up with the views of the day. Makes perfect sense. That being the case it pays to make sure that they get the story straight first time. Not just a lot of wheel spin about someone in the drivers seat being a w@nker