Question for southerners

No barramundi here. Just snapper, whiting, samson, kingies, tuna ...

A question for southerners now living in Darwin: Do you miss any aspects of southern fishing?

Yes
57%
No
43%

Total votes: 35

Sheeby

Post by Sheeby »

I've gotta say that I miss walking rivers at the base of 200m high sandstone gorges casting around divers for Aussie Bass near the Blue Mountains. Or flicking surface lures around in the dark and hearing the bass smashing the lure...hookups on almost every cast. Or Being able to swim out to a snagged lure, fishing was cheaper down south haha.

:catch:

Sheeby.

Must admit, no. Plenty of fishing I enjoyed, most of it I can get up here. Sootys are a swap for bass, fingermark, for snapper, salmon for salmon and tailor, jewies for jewies, no big tuna up here but big trevors etc etc. The only thin I cant replicate is the big fish off the rocks but who gives a toss, too many people sitting on that same rock now-a-days anyway.

For myself, I dont miss anything about the fishing, the barra kick arse. :smoking:

The only thing I really miss a bit , would be camping on the Murray where you camp on the bank, and go and sit in the water on those hot days and sink a few cans. Pull up at a snag, and jump off the boat for a swim. No crocs is a bonus. But fishing in rivers up here with no irrigation and that are healthy and wild full of barra :fish: and crocs :croc: makes the NT rock 8-)

I went back about 3 years ago towed the boat down went for a fish on the Murray, caught a couple of cod, and could not wait to get back up chasing barra.

Dingo :mrgreen:

I do miss fishing for salmon in the surf on the west coast of SA.
That was heaps of fun 8-) .
Still occasionaly fish of the beach with the old 14 foot and 700 alvey for salmon at dundee.
Miss BIG KG,S yumm. :chef2:
Dont realy miss snapper fishing of the rocks at black point near Whyalla,
Mid winter, 25 knots southerly, 5 in the morning, jeans, jumpers, overalls balaclavs, gloves, army trench coat and a bottle of stonies green ginger wine for breaky :drinking2:
I get cold in the dry here, dont know how I done that for so many years.
bushie

Post by bushie »

flathead? too cold, fish too small. Bugger that. If I ever moved down south I'd sell the boat first and buy some more guns. Guns for home defence, I hear home invasions are all the rage down 'there'!
Harty

Post by Harty »

PeterT wrote:Like mudskipper, I miss spinning trout in mountain steams and my fav is the black celta.
I miss seeing mountains - real mountains, some with snow;
I miss trolling trout on mountain lakes so cold the water drops along your line freeze;
I miss catching yellow belly and cod in the Murray, incidentally it was hard to catch a cod in the Murray 30 years ago, and impossible to catch a yella. But both are easy now due to stocking programs.
I miss casting for monster 20lb flatties at Mallacoota
I miss prawning with a prawn light and scoop net without beeing eaten by a giant lizard.
I miss sambar deer hunting in the mountains, only 1 hour from home.
I miss whistling up foxes and shooting piles of rabbits in an arvo after work.

But there are some great things up here. Last week I stood on the bank and cast at a snag in a remote creek in East Arhnemland and lost count of the Barra I caught - none below legal size. Same for pesky 2kg Jacks which were the bicatch.

Hunted for turtle eggs on an endless beach on the gulf and had them for supper with muddies pulled from the rock crevises with the wire handle of a flour tin.

Shot a young wild bull and dined on ribs roasted on the ashes and fillet steak, Jacks, barra, muddies and damper. (Fed a whole bunch of community people who have no guns to get such tucker).

Slept in 1 million star accomodation on the beach. Roll out of the swag and shoot a wild boar hunting turtle eggs down the beach.

And I get money for doing this as well?

I just love topend.

pete

What he said.....

bushie wrote:flathead? too cold, fish too small. Bugger that. If I ever moved down south I'd sell the boat first and buy some more guns. Guns for home defence, I hear home invasions are all the rage down 'there'!
I'm glad there's no crime up here, thats great.
Tell that to the bloke I saw get bashed with a hammer the other day, or the child care centre next door that was broken into last month, ot the school here that has had 3 breakins in 3 weeks, or the many boat owners who have had their cars broken into at the ramp . you get the drift
bushie

Post by bushie »

nomad, sounds to me like your NT 'visa' has expired. Time to pack your bags and go back south then! get the drift?
luke79

Post by luke79 »

There are a few things i miss about being back south. I miss chasing the natives around the freshwater, walking the banks of the rivers and lakes.
i miss the scenery of some of the spots i used fish down on the nsw sth coast, narooma etc. thats not to say i dont find myself in amazing places up here, i just miss my little haunts down there.
I think the biggest thing i miss about fishing down sth is that i find fishing down there much more relaxing.. i dont have to lather myself in insect repellant and sunscreen, cover myself head to toe so i dont get burnt and i dont spend the day sweating my guts out.
i miss getting to a boat ramp and not having to fight it out with crowds of people when i wanna launch or retrieve.
coming from canberra, fishing isnt a huge past time for most people, so being a fisherman puts you into a little close knit group of people, i guess i miss being a little unique.. every bugger goes fishing up here hehe.
having said all that, i love it up here and have no doubt that if i move back i will miss it up here.
macka17

Re: Question for southerners

Post by macka17 »

Only thing I miss. is not moving North sooner.
deano

Post by deano »

the only thing i miss about south is family...... but i'll take barra n boars over them anyday

Forget the fishing. The only thing I would miss would be going to the rugby.
luke79

Post by luke79 »

You mean rugby (union) or rugby league?..
I miss going to the rugby, but im pretty pumped to see the Brumbies flog the Reds up here in Feb, then im gonna fly back home to Canberra to see the season opener for the Brumbies.

Seeing as the avatar is for the reds, I'd guess rah rah
you get league telecast here live

luke79 wrote:You mean rugby (union) or rugby league?..
I miss going to the rugby, but im pretty pumped to see the Brumbies flog the Reds up here in Feb, then im gonna fly back home to Canberra to see the season opener for the Brumbies.
Yeah mate I mean rugby as in proper rugby. Mate your dreaming. The Mighty Reds will roll the Brumbies. :) I hope both sides put close to full strength sides on the park.

Was in Canberra last year for the Reds vs Brumbies. Tough night that one for us. We found out the hard way that the locals are very presious over Giteau. :D Who ever knew that a NT drivers licence would be so handy at scraping frost off of the windscreen. :rofl:

Will be going south a few times this year to catch the Reds.