FFF Seadogs - Round 11 - Whisker Ticklers

Re: FFF Seadogs - Round 11 - Whisker Ticklers

So I'd lined up Ziggy to hit up Middle Arm this morning to chase some barra, but when it rained last night, I threw the snapper gear in as a back-up plan in case the barra weren't playing.

Sure enough, the creeks were dirty and we didn't catch a barra all day, but we did soak a few baits on some likely looking rock bars.

A range of estuary bottom dwellers came in over the gunnels, but it was this mighty fish below that made me first get out the brag mat and camera.... :rofl: :rofl:
18cm Powertail.JPG
18cm Powertail - location shot.JPG
Later in the morning, on a new spot, I got the upgrade, and a different type to boot! :clap:
30cm Powertail.JPG
30cm Powertail - location shot.JPG
And eventually I got another upgrade - best fight of the day too! :lol:
39cm Powertail.JPG
39cm Powertail - location shot.JPG
Luckily Ziggy was catching goldies, so we managed to bring home dinner. :mrgreen:
Ziggy's 35cm goldie.JPG
Bit of a sureal trip - I don't usually let catfishs come in the boat, and here I was fussing over them on the brag mat taking multiple photos! Felt like mango madness. :D

Got this one up durak gorge , on live archer fish. Not sure how ya measuring them tail/fork ??

I think you should be disqualified for going out and intentionally targeting powertails :) :)
Or did ya get a barra??

DOUG wrote:I think you should be disqualified for going out and intentionally targeting powertails :) :)
Or did ya get a barra??
Couple jews and sting ray ??

Talk about letting down the balloon. What is the point in trying to catch a Powertail now? Powertail master, I bow to you

Lats wrote:Talk about letting down the balloon. What is the point in trying to catch a Powertail now? Powertail master, I bow to you
plenty bigger ones around than this one , landing them is another thing

ponyplay wrote:
Lats wrote:Talk about letting down the balloon. What is the point in trying to catch a Powertail now? Powertail master, I bow to you
plenty bigger ones around than this one , landing them is another thing
this is how to land the pr..ks

geez Curt, that is a fish. Imagine how much soup you could make with just the head on that sucker! :mrgreen:

Lol. :shock: Nice fish Pony. So much for not being able to fish this month mate. :roll: Well done on a good win! :applause:

Just out of curiosity Matt. How are we measuring them. To the fork or tip??

It doesn't matter I guess as I would need one 45cm odd bigger then kurts to get him and unless I go to the Amazon that ain't happening!

to the fork i reckon

should have been whisker to fork :D

cuddlescooper wrote:Lol. :shock: Nice fish Pony. So much for not being able to fish this month mate. :roll: Well done on a good win! :applause:

Just out of curiosity Matt. How are we measuring them. To the fork or tip??

It doesn't matter I guess as I would need one 45cm odd bigger then kurts to get him and unless I go to the Amazon that ain't happening!

not sure wat ya on about with 45cm , and as for work my boss pulled the pin on work thursday arvo, sumthing about this constant 45 degree heat being to much. We both know there is a bigger Powertail than this one in the N.T. :wink:
Fogazi

Post by Fogazi »

Yeh I'm hitting up the vic river for a week after chrissy so should be able to give pp a challenge..

Holly Shiit Curt . Are there any small fish over there ??? :shock:

Holly Shiit :shock: :mrgreen:

Fogazi wrote:Yeh I'm hitting up the vic river for a week after chrissy so should be able to give pp a challenge..
Ahh round ends on the 25th of December. But good luck and I hope you get plenty of p o w e r t a i l from the vic. :P
Josh

Post by Josh »

Caught land based at the daly today