FFF Seadogs 2012 - Round 4 - Mack Attack

Posting this up early - mackerel are the Seadogs species for June. Post your entries from June 1.

Large brag mats are at The Tackle Box, Palmerston.

Re: FFF Seadogs 2012 - Round 4 - Mack Attack

Name your favourites for this mackie round if you like, I'm guessing CuddlesCooper or balou

I have a home made special lure secret weapon :lipsrsealed: :lipsrsealed:

Better get out there and hav a go!,

Don't have to go that far to get a good sized Mack!!

The FFF 2012 Seadogs Mackerel Round starts tomorrow, for the month - here's a few tips for newbies ...

*Get up early, mackies are best just before sun-up, and late arvo. If fishing during the day, fish deep.
*Troll as fast as the lures go, or use livebait. Reef fish such as flag or small trevs (spuds) work well as livebait.
*Garfish are all around Darwin, use berley and a small hook or cast net to catch 'em behind the boat.
*Big macks come in close. East Point and Lee Point are excellent spots - also the Six Mile Buoy, Angler Reef, Mandorah, Larrakeyah. The near-shore reef at Lee Point is one of the best.
*Since you have to troll fast, buy lures that handle it - Halco Scorpions, Reidys Judge etc. Blue and white/silver stripe works well, or red head and white body.
*Watch out for the teeth - don't let a mack wriggle off the gaff onto your foot. If you do - post the pix!
*You'll need wire trace, although heavy mono can work with lures as the fish usually bite the hooks, but it is risky.
*Following the bird schools is not so good with big mackies. There are usually too many small mackies and tuna in the way!
*Clear-water tides are usually best, eg coming off neaps.
*Bleed 'em fast. Put cutlets on the bbq with olive oil and lemon pepper - first rate tucker, ignore the mack critics! Cutting the cutlets can be a pain - I am told freezing the trunks and using a bandsaw works, but I have never tried it. Deep fried fresh mack nuggets are also good.
Est_1982

Post by Est_1982 »

Matt Flynn wrote:The FFF 2012 Seadogs Mackerel Round starts tomorrow, for the month - here's a few tips for newbies ...

*Get up early, mackies are best just before sun-up, and late arvo. If fishing during the day, fish deep.
*Troll as fast as the lures go, or use livebait. Reef fish such as flag or small trevs (spuds) work well as livebait.
*Garfish are all around Darwin, use berley and a small hook or cast net to catch 'em behind the boat.
*Big macks come in close. East Point and Lee Point are excellent spots - also the Six Mile Buoy, Angler Reef, Mandorah, Larrakeyah. The near-shore reef at Lee Point is one of the best.
*Since you have to troll fast, buy lures that handle it - Halco Scorpions, Reidys Judge etc. Blue and white/silver stripe works well, or red head and white body.
*Watch out for the teeth - don't let a mack wriggle off the gaff onto your foot. If you do - post the pix!
*You'll need wire trace, although heavy mono can work with lures as the fish usually bite the hooks, but it is risky.
*Following the bird schools is not so good with big mackies. There are usually too many small mackies and tuna in the way!
*Clear-water tides are usually best, eg coming off neaps.
*Bleed 'em fast. Put cutlets on the bbq with olive oil and lemon pepper - first rate tucker, ignore the mack critics! Cutting the cutlets can be a pain - I am told freezing the trunks and using a bandsaw works, but I have never tried it. Deep fried fresh mack nuggets are also good.
Great stuff!
polcat

Post by polcat »

Matt,

Will the measuring be counted if we dont have a large Brag Mat and use one of those sewing tapes???
MAY THE FISH BE WITH YOU !!

CHEERS,

POLCAT

As long as I can make out the numbers, and the tape is straight and not too crumpled, it should be OK. The Tackle Box has the big measuring mats though :mrgreen:

So has anyone been out chasing them yet? Bit hard with this wind!!! :banghead: Thinking about having a go this weekend if that low moves into the bight. Although I think the water clarity will be sh!t coming off springs and 30 knots of breeze. :evil: Dont they look at the tides when they schedule long weeke :bonk: nds? Sheez :bs:
polcat

Post by polcat »

Lost a thumper off talc head on the weekend!! :banghead:
Oh well that's fishin
MAY THE FISH BE WITH YOU !!

CHEERS,

POLCAT

polcat wrote:Lost a thumper off talc head on the weekend!! :banghead:
Oh well that's fishin
Bad luck mate. Good to know they are around. I'll get him for ya! :lolpoint:
Bowser

Post by Bowser »

just to get some pics going, not in the comp but got this on sunday
Trier

Post by Trier »

Not that I am in the competition either, but this is as close to a big mac as I am likely to get ..........
Last edited by Trier on Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

Nice mack Bowser ,,,,glad your not in,,,less compition :D ,,but why not join its free :catch:

Yeh, here's my big mack ...

I reckon Agent86 will be good chance for this round.

I have seen the wind observations. Plus big tides ... hopefully it might start happening next week.