FFF Seadogs 2012 - Round 4 - Mack Attack

Re: FFF Seadogs 2012 - Round 4 - Mack Attack

Thanks guys
I feel very lucky to have landed this one as we weren,t fishing for mack at this stage and my rigg was 70lb mono patt 2 hook.I only had some soggy pillies left so used a 7" gulp (nuc/chic)on the top hook with 1/2 pillie on the bottom.I got one big hit then nothing,but about a minute latter all hell broke loose ,by the time I got to rod he had the line under the boat between the motor and the transom,my deckie saw what was going on and got the leg up just as it changed directon and came sceaming back around the other side,we both called it for shark and were quite surprised to see the mack come up after a very short fight .After he was gaffed into the boat I checked the rigg,the gulp was cut in half and only hanging on one dropper loop, the bottom dropper was ripped to bits but managed to hang there,,,Yes I feel lucky indeed,,, :D

Main thing is he's in the boat and your'e on th board. 8)

Agent86 wrote: Have you had a go yet cuddles, or waiting till the last week same as the Jew???
Had a little poke around yesterday but was a bit late getting out after work and the sun had dropped too low. I dropped one immediatly after the strike (trembler came back chewed to bits) as soon as I got out but that was it before the sun set.

Will have to wait to I finish my work in a weeks time before I get to swing the bat at them again. :banghead: By then the wind will be up again and the tides will be huge so Im not liking my chances. :roll: :wink:

Ps good start jeffish. Not a bad little fish to start! :mrgreen:

Tried to get on the board today.
Ran out to fenton trawled to north gutter then from north gutter to south gutter and into charles.
No bait No birds and NO fish.
Somthing snipped the tail squid of my teaser wide of south and had a strike closer in to charles
The only action I saw was 4 dolphins riding the bow for 10 or so minutes
Blew up a bit around 10 and was a bumpy run in from charles.
First time I have trawled from north to south
Anyone have any luck doing that before

Went to Lee point today, trolled from Nightcliff round Old Man rock to Angler and then in to Lee Point for zip, well except for the weed!!

So much for the windless day, never mind.

Burleyed a bit near the outer reef, got a few nice black spots, got all excited when a nice Mack came up about 1pm and chased some gar!! :)

About 2.30 we saw a couple swim past our floating gar in the waves, then bang, one went off like a rocket, 99 grabbed the rod and I quickly relieved her of it, bang off went the other as well, double hookup, 8) screaming runs from good sized Mack's peeling line, went this way and that, we crossed rods at least 3 times, looked out the back and all we could see was the big shark that had cruised past earlier, think it was a big Tiger but didn't get a real close look. At least 4 meters, have encountered them there in the past over the years.

first my Mack came back past and the line hit the shark, ping, cya later, then 99's mack came past the other way and same thing, ping, 2 nice fish down :evil: :lol: Shark wasn't anywhere near the Mack's just in the bl..dy way at the wrong time!

Oh well u get that, at least we hooked a couple, re rigged, got the lines in again and 5 min later mine took off again, yee hah :mrgreen: gave a few good runs and then turned him towards the boat, no sign of the shark thank f&#k, had to wind flat out to keep the tension as it charged towards the boat, heaps of head shakeing going on, came in close to the boat then shook its head and said cya later!!!! :banghead:

Damn big spaniards :bonk: basta#%s, oh well, didn't see another, but ended up with some good garfish for the next Perons trip :D

Will get one eventually :| At least we found some!!

Hard luck 86,99 to loose one that way is sad but two FARRRRK

Hey Matt did my mack get in with the tape measure or not,,,you,ve been a bit quiet
smed

Post by smed »

Matt's at my place & he said to tell you....."no".

smed :moon:
smed

Post by smed »

Now where's that busted-arse tape measure.....

Sound a bit jealous there mate,,better not put the pics up of the 50 or so other fish we got that nite
Trier

Post by Trier »

Hi Smed,

I've got a tape in the shed with the first 300mm or so snapped off you can have.......

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John
passenger279

Post by passenger279 »

Sigh, do I really need to be shooting for smallest fish every round? Got it on a 20g blue/silver/red slice in between some very chunky queenies over shallow reef out of Pirlangimpi. We soaked a livie for 2hrs, not even a shark would touch it.

Headed in to Darwin in an hour so better post it up! Hopefully get off Lee Point and chase up a decent one in coming weeks!
june little mack.jpg

Tape measure is OK jeffish :mrgreen:

Anyone using tape measures make sure you have the camera set on large pictures so I can blow them up.

Pros tell me the macks have only just arrived in numbers, it has apparently been quiet until recently.

No need for big brag mats and Lufkin tapes. Just don't catch fish that big :D

Here is my measly effort from the weekend. Changed my plans and swaped the V8's for fishing on the saturday and ended up trolling teasers for billies around Sail City and Long Lost. Damn lucky too as the wind blew up on Sunday and I watched team Vodaphone have a great 1, 2 finish.

Weather was pretty good on Saturday but the water still hasn't got the normal deep blue that you see off Dundee this time of the year. Bugger all birds and very few schools of tuna busting up. Trolled a shallow diving Halco right beside the teaser in the hope of a mack. Got this one early in the day but lost a stonker late afternoon, ended up nearly spooling the Calcutta before snapping 30lb braid.
70cm mack.JPG
Also had raised and hooked one good size sail around 18Kg. My young feller was on strike and hooked up, took the first run of about 100m but busted us off on the second run. I forgot to reduce the drag as the spool diameter got lower :banghead:

At least I am on the board for this round.
Trier

Post by Trier »

As Cuddlescooper said last week there are some sly dogs out there....

I reckon Sheeby and Pecheur might be foxing - they've been awful quiet lately. :)

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John