Re: FFF Seadogs 2012 - Round 3 - Jewfish Busters

June 1 entries no prob.

With time running short for the Jewie round it was time to bring out the big guns. Decided to hit the harbour :lol: :bonk: . Wasnt really expecting much but knew in the back of my head that if you do manage to hook a fish in the harbour they are generally good ones. After 2 trips to Charles point for the month only providing 3 jew for my deckies, including Sheebys 129cm and a couple of smaller ones to my dad, my Jewie Mojo was running low. In fact even the missus was out fishing me 3 to 1. :bow:. Well she started the show off again dropping a fish that didnt stop for man, woman or child. I soon followed dropping another that wasnt going to be stopped on the gear we were using. Eventually we boated one once we got the heavier gear out. Sindy got this cracker 125cm fish.
Da babys 125cm Jew.JPG
Once this fish was measured she hooked another and despite the heavier gear this one was also not going to be stopped. After a quick re-rig she was back into it and again got blown away. These things were submarines and we wernt prepared with the gear to boat them :roll: :banghead: . I should have known. I hooked up next and after lots of tense moments and grunts and groans managed to stop one. This one went well over my brag mat lenght of 125cm.
Big harbour jew.JPG
harbour jew 004.JPG
I soon followed this up with another of around 120cm. My camera went flat so the last photo is on a phone. Bit blurry
Two jew over 120cm.jpg
A great afternoon landing 3 jew over 120cm and dropping 5 absolute unstopables before I left them biting. After 2 trips to Charless point yeilding only 1 good Jew that Sheeby got and 2 smaller ones to my dad it proved that sometimes you are better thinking out side of the square and only burning a cup of fuel. Not bad for 3 hours effort after work. 8)
2 brothers fishing

Post by 2 brothers fishing »

gonna go out again this arvo maybe ill get lucky this time.

Crackin' jewies CC :mrgreen:

Good little jewie spot is that one :fishing:

And good to see big fish near the city - the fisheries boffins say large fish are a sign of a healthy fishery.
coastaljoy

Post by coastaljoy »

Just a quick report from the sw WA on mulloway, we caught and released 5 last night of the Busselton jetty no photos as we just cut them off without lifting them up on the jetty, ranging in size from 10kg to 15kg,we have been getting them every year for 23 years they turn up when the weather turn bad. some may not believe this but thats ok cause I know I caught 2 and my mate 3 .
he fishes he fishes he fishes its the only thing in life all he ever gets is hell from his fed up wife
2 brothers fishing

Post by 2 brothers fishing »

no luck this arvo might need to fix the gps so im not winging it every time.
barrabustin

Post by barrabustin »

Land a 111 Jew tonight! Upload when I get home. :catch:
jonr

Post by jonr »

Best I could get tonight was 48cm post pick in morning;(
barrabustin

Post by barrabustin »

So ended up getting my jewfish for the month, on the last day of the month. :clap:
end up with this 111cm model, a dozen jews under 50cm, a 2.5m shark!! :D
jonr

Post by jonr »

Ok guys, laugh as you will. this is officially the smallest jew fish i have ever taken a photo of... 49cm...

I only had one roll of the dice to get a jew and headed to Charles point last nite... only got 2 jew and this was the big one!

as a side note - there were lots of annoying goldies that kept hitting our baits... :) so we went home with a good feed, in fact I think he best goldie was bigger than the jew fish lol.

jon
Trier

Post by Trier »

No entry from Lats then???

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

Well done CS, and everyone else who managed to get an entry in.

Unfortunately didn't get out again, had to go to Sydney for a Funeral for 99's Nanna. Nanna almost made it to 98 years, not bad, reckon I got a lot of fishing in front of me before I get there!!

Have to look for a bic Mac now!!

Trier

Post by Trier »

Some nice fish there CS; don't know if I missed it, but what are you claiming for the big(ger) jewie?

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John

Went for a last minute run to lorna shoals with Ben Jam thurs night but only manged to get small jews,all were released to fight another day.It was a fantastic trip weather wise and we did bag out on Goldies :D also a nice cod and trickies.But I think they should rename it to lemon shark shoal,hooked 7 all up ,,not much fun,,Bring on the Macks

Well done everyone who got a jewie this round.

Congrats Sheeby!!