New leader/mailine knot

ronje
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

New leader/mailine knot

Post by ronje »

Hello all

I'm always experimenting/looking for new ways/ testing traditional methods etc etc.

The subject of mainline to leader knots has ended up as a bug-bear as I kept running out of fingers and toes trying to tie the bl..dy things.

I usually fish with 50/60 lb leader for barra and 80lb leader for big threadfin king combined with 30lb braid.

I also use a bimini double to give the leader knot more strength.

Doubles mean bulkier knots.

And I've tried many different traditional knots. Albright, FG etc etc and variations in between.

Attached is a diagram (as best that I could draw it) of a knot that I've ended up using.

Its a home invention and a degree of experimentation was required to get it right.

I've been using it exclusively for about 12 months testing it since making the last refinement.

Its simple, small and very strong. Less than 5mm long and about 1.5mm diam.

I've been snagged and lost lures when there was no alternative to simply breaking the line.

When I did break the line, the break was ALWAYS on the single 30lb braid NOT at the leader end of the bimini double (the leader knot). In addition, I've never had this knot let go with a fish on.

The knot is bl..dy strong, small, simple and easily runs through the rod guides.

For those who like to experiment or are sick of complications with knots, try it. You won't be disappointed.

Also, I'd be interested in your thoughts etc.
IMG_20190913_0001.jpg
P9120003.JPG
P9120004.JPG
P9120006.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Regards
Ronje
NinjaFish
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Re: New leader/mailine knot

Post by NinjaFish »

Nearly the same as mine.
I do 10 reverse winds back over the mono x 2 and the braid then 3 lockers over the mono x 1 and the braid.