40%
i don't ever service them
8%

Total votes: 25

How much do they charge to have your reel serviced at TEFS??
Mine are overdue,like everything else I own.....

jonesy wrote:How much do they charge to have your reel serviced at TEFS??
Mine are overdue,like everything else I own.....
Mate if it is all fine you would be looking at around $20-$25.....
and if you want a leather drag washer add $3.50 to that :mrgreen:

drifter

Post by drifter »

Hi 2 Rods, do you make your own leather drag washer. Geoff put me onto welding glove cut with a die - soaked in good quality reel grease. Works a treat and way out lasts the one's produced by Shimano. :mrgreen:

drifter wrote:Hi 2 Rods, do you make your own leather drag washer. Geoff put me onto welding glove cut with a die - soaked in good quality reel grease. Works a treat and way out lasts the one's produced by Shimano. :mrgreen:
G'day drifter, I havn't made my own yet but I will next time.. I have about 10 welding gloves floating around that need to be put to good use :grin:

I have a wad punch that should be the right size. If not I can get one easy as.

Might be a good night shift job :angel: :angel:

Lobster

Post by Lobster »

I was having a heap of trouble with water getting into the drags of two charter specials I own. Had a gutful of paying to get them fixed so learnt myself and now service all my own gear. It is actually fun to sit down with a coldy and watch the footy cleaing the gear.

As for drags I replaced the charter special drags with Carbontex drag washers from Jack Erskine. Unbelievable the change it has made. They are both silky smooth and never have water problems as they 'wet' drags. When I get back I will contacting Jack and getting all my reels upgraded with them...they are that good.

I reckon everyone should service their own gear as you learn so much about it by ripping it apart. Besides if you stuff it up just throw all the pieces in a box, put the tail between your legs and pay someone to fix it 8-) Oh Yeh

:lobster:
jpb15

Post by jpb15 »

My philosophy - Fix it or F*ck it

Either I will fix it, or I will F*ck it trying.

If I fix it, Good. If I F*ck it. I go buy a new one.

Sick of coming home Fishless
George

Post by George »

I use to do them myself, I was one of those fisherman that shimano talks about that do more bad than good.
I make it a habbit of learning how to strip all of my reels of coarse, but for 20bucks I just drop them off now and can blame someone else if they stuff it up.
Interesting reading the shimano manual on a recent purchase, as it reccomends not even washing their reels. It states to wipe over with a rag sprayed with WD40, engage the ratchet (if applicable) ,unwind the drag and engage the free spool.
Been doing this for a while now an havn't had an dramas so far.

Custom Plate Boats
Boat modifications
Trailer and repairs

http://www.fishingterritory.com