Jerky????

Show off your best recipes or grab one here and impress your partner.
A_Nomad

Post by A_Nomad »

Cheers dicko :mrgreen: thanks for the tips mate, do you cut ya meat with the grain, or against, again i have been told 2 differant views??

Brad
><((((NAUGHTY ·.¸¸ .··.¸¸.NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY ...NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY¸.
¸¸ .··.¸¸NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY ·.¸¸ .··.¸¸.NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY .¸NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY¸.·.¸¸ .··.¸¸.NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY
XXtreme

Post by XXtreme »

I normally buy Topside Roasts cut them into large long portions and put them it in the freezer until just firm, then I cut those portions vey thinly with the grain. But hey, whatever floats ya boat, try it both ways and decide for yourself.

2rods recipie is da bomb! But I sprinkle the meat with chillie flakes and freshly ground pepper and press in after layin in the dryer. I like it hot! :twisted: I also find it is ready after about 7-8 hours on the high setting. I suppose it depends on the thickness of the cut, how you like it, space between pieces etc. Just keep checking it as you don't want to overdo it! The longer you marinade it the better! Mmmm, I'm off to buy the ingredients right now! :grin:

well I have entered the jerky world...

I done my first batch today after borrowing a dryer off Johnny Whitegoods. And I reckon my batch is top of the tree, and dare I say it big man....but I reckon i might have you beat 2rods :o :o :o

went with the same base as you used, but added the following key ingredients

vinegar
sweet hungarian paprika
berenberg taka tala sauce
lemon pepper

oh, and the other big difference, I tenderised the meat which lets the marinade get in further.

we will have to have a jerky off one day. not like the cronulla sharks though :lol: :lol: :lol:

And I reckon my batch is top of the tree, and dare I say it big man....but I reckon i might have you beat 2rods
A tough call KK, that 2rods jerky was pretty bl..dy good :grin:

Matt Flynn wrote:
And I reckon my batch is top of the tree, and dare I say it big man....but I reckon i might have you beat 2rods
A tough call KK, that 2rods jerky was pretty bl..dy good :grin:

My jerky was tested by "experts" (2rods and Harmsey) and got the thumbs up..... :wink: but then again I did use 2rods's recipe so there may be a little bias.. :grin:
I reckon a jerky off seems like a good idea :P

"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship".

"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

Well i got a different way of doing jerky that some might find interesting.
Its a method i got from mum, since then ive variated what i put into the marinate. Basically the quality of taste is gonna depend on the quality of meat, i usually go shoot a stray cow and chop it up but a visit to your local butcher works to. My choice of cuts would be either porterhouse or rump/sirloin. From here i just cut them into thick strips(they will shrivel with my drying method so thick is the go) removing the fat then placing the strips into a bowl. With the marinate i pour in oyster sauce and kecap manis (ABC sweet soy sauce) going 50/50 till theres enough covering half the meat present, again i always use authentic asian products which i personally think provides more flavour. Quick mix with clean hands to see all the strips are getting equal spread then along with a few more ingredients. A bit of dried tarragon and thyme dusted in, paprika, cracked pepper, some vinegar, fresh rosemary (crunch in ya hand before u chuck it in to release the flavour), crushed garlic, chilli (if ya want a ring burning sensation) and a heap of salt. Mix and beat thouroughly.
Glad wrap the bowl and leave it marinate for 24 hours, sometimes i let it go for 36 hours and you get a pretty intense flavour that i prefer.
Now for drying i use the heat of the sun, my setup is two fly screen doors, where one has the meat on it and the other over the top for protection from flys and hawks. Its then placed elevated on some dunnage which is sitting in a large tray i have which is got half an inch of water in it to stop the ants gettin to it. This is placed on the roof of the shed, now obviously rain and overcast days will play a factor so getting a scorcher of a day is ideal. Now you wanna toast them for at least 6-7hrs till the strips stiffen right up, basically after all that f*ck around you just deep or shallow fry the strips in a wok or whatever you use in your household with olive oil until they darken up to their near original colour. Throw them on a paper towel to soak up excess and hopefully enjoy an ancient asian recipie thats been used for generations.
Ive tried alot of jerky's (except 2rods) and this has been second to none, the time and prep really pays off.

last time i made jerky few years back. marinated it for few days. dried it for few more. frigging beautiful.

forget the ring burner... i call it spitty bum!

for a week.. :rofl:

frig making it. some products are best worth buying :lol:

Beef jerky recipe

Mines pretty basic too, but slightly different.

I use cheap cut's whatevers on special.

Place meat in a large bowl (you can also use chicken.....ITS GOOD)
add a good splash of cheap port,
2 tbls garlic and ginger.
about 1/2 cup honey,
dash of liquid smoke.
1/2 cup sweet chillie sauce.
1/2cup woscestershire sauce.
A good dose of pepper and salt
1tbls cofee.
1/2 a chopped onion.
For hot version and chille flakes and wasabi to this as desired.
Marrinate for at least 24hrs
Place in dehydrator with pieces not touching(spray each tray lightly with a tin of spray olive oil, helps when wife is washing up later)
Takes up 14hrs or so depending on size of pieces. During drying rotate the shelves around to promote even cooking.

ENJOY

Can you do some kind of jerky with fish?
:-? :-? :-?

drifter

Post by drifter »

Hi Pecheur, check out this link from Mr Flynn. Send him a PM and he may pass on the recipe

http://www.fishingterritory.com/viewtopic.php?t=17084

Hey thanks Drifter!

wife just got me a dry for my birthday the other day so I'm going to give 2 Rods famous jerky receipy a go tonight...

Cant wait to get into them at lunch time tomorrow..

Wet weather + spare time = Jerky :chef2:

Just trying a new mix......so hot my bum had ring sting just from the smell of it :evil: :evil: :evil: :naughty:

Did a sweet soy garlic 1 aswell......tasted good.....so its into the fridge for 12-24hrs then off to the drier with it....then of to hospital for a rebore for who ever eats it :rofl: :rofl:

Followed 2rods receipy to the letter but added 2 table spoon of hot chilli sauce ( from markets). The jerky was done a in 6 hours and I polished off the lot last night.. :chef2: :chef2: :chef2: Yummy!

My ass is feeling it today that how spicy it was.....

second batch on marinate for tommorow. (heaps less chilli)

Return to “Reel Recipes”