Introducing FAD # 3 FV Van Bruggen's Dream

Scuttlers of FFF unite and show us your sinkings!
natural sparks

Post by natural sparks »

well me old (in 2 days) mate i reckon by now you will just about be floating on the biggest barbie plate in the nt :captain: and when i see you next you will have seen the cast of thousands i have assembled for the scuttling of the name sake :sailing:
hope the crew had a good night and bon voyage

When I grow up I can't wait to be a grown up...........

The fellas - being 2rods, harmsey, Beasty and Jasonmcc - have had a successful float of the hull and are out there tonight for a sinking early tomorrow as Beasty planned.

If they don't get rum poisoning tonight all should go as scheduled.

See you out there :mrgreen:
doors off

Post by doors off »

I thought it was being sunk today (Fri), what time is the sinking tomorrow morning?
Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!

About 8am-9am they will be heading out from the sailing club mooring area for Lee Point.
doors off

Post by doors off »

Matt,

thanks for the heads up, I will see what the wind is doing in the morning and hopefully get out for a bo peep.

Well done, to all the guys involved in getting some more structure out there. You all deserve plenty of thanks.

:bow:
Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!

If weather permits i'll try and make it out in the inflatable seeker :lolpoint: , running dual leccy motors now :cheers: might need a tow back though :lol:

Got a call from the boys last night. Seen to be having a good time out there. Guess that no amount of grease cooked up on the bbq is going to make them feel any better though. :drinking2: :drinking2: :drinking2: :drinking3: :drinking3: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Have fun out there today guys. Love to be there. :cheers:

Well it all went like clock work.....there is now 1 more new reef on the bottom....it put on a good show too...lots of rushing air and stuff...

Thanks to all who helped and those that came to see the sinking....

I am someone will post pictures soon..I am off to sleep :sleep: :sleep:

I took photos of the prep work and tow etc but only video of the actual sinking - can anyone email me a full-size photo of the sinking for the Sunday newspaper?

I'll knock a video together shortly.

Here's the A-team at work ... Jordan Doevy, Jasonmcc, BarraBeast, 2rods, Harmsey and Nightstalker :mrgreen:
Last edited by Matt Flynn on Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rhookie

Post by rhookie »

Heres a few more of the sinking, loved it fellas, ill definately be in for the next scuttling!

[/img][/img]
Admit nothing, Deny everything!

Thats awesome guys, the fishing community cant thank you enough for your hard work and dedication towards the project. You blokes rock!!! :bow: :applause: :bow: :applause:

Here are some with the crane doing its thing....it got a little bogged too but we got it out :angel:

also the tow out courtesy of GS MARINE The owner Gary Quinn came along with his 7mtr boat "the judge" :applause: :applause: :applause:

jasonmcc

What a night

Post by jasonmcc »

Well I must say it all went perfectly to plan. Shorelands did a great job at getting the hull down to the beach. We had a couple of little hiccups but nothing that wasnt easily sorted. The crane got bogged on the beach for a bit but not for long. We had dozens of people come down from the sailing and trailer boat club wondering what the hell we were doing. I tried to tell most of them that we were competing in the Darwin to Ambon :rofl:

I cant remember what time exactly it started to float but it was around 9:30PM. You should of heard the cheers from the crowds up at the sailing club. We then towed it out behind the rest of the yachts and anchored up for the night. Even managed to get pizzas delivered to the boat ramp.

We only had one small leak but it was enough to have to start the water pump every hour and a half. Had a great time out there with the BBQ going and the beers flowing. It got bl..dy cold out there from about 2:30AM when the wind started to blow. Gary from GS Marine towed the hull out with 'The Judge' which did an awesome job. Thanks Gary and GS. It got pretty choppy out at the scuttling location which made unloading the wreck of all our gear pretty exciting. The hull went down really quickly once the hull was breached, probably took only 10-15min. All up it went extremely well and I had a great time helping it happen.

Thanks to :

BarraBeast - for all the work that he did, wouldnt of happened with out him.

The old owner
Shorelands
Gary from GS Marine
Keith Daley for lending us his cutting/welding gear.
Harmsey
NightStalker - for bringing us coffee in the morning
And everyone else that I forgot and Barrabeast im sure will thank later.

My camera went flat, Harmsey has heaps of pics which im sure he will post.

Jason
...............Wishin' I was fishin'...............

I know why we were cold last night... missus just watched the weather and it was 5degC in the rural area..... :shock: :shock: :shock:

No wonder barrabeast was looking for his sleeping bag :P