Loeepatches this weekend?

Sharky87

Loeepatches this weekend?

Post by Sharky87 »

G'day guys,

Had my first trip to Loee patches on Sunday just gone and fished the falling tide.
Was rewarded with trickies, blue bone, cod and couple of school mackerel.
Caught about 30 sharks.
So now I'm thinking of heading that way again on either sat or Sunday this wekeend, though I'm unsure if it will fish as well with the heaps? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Not too concerned about it being a bit blowy, I'm in a 20ft shark at so can deal with bad weather pretty well.
Fellas

Re: Loeepatches this weekend?

You might struggle with the lack of movement
Sharky87

Post by Sharky87 »

Think I might chance it and give it a try. Might head down there real early and fish as the sun comes up then just fish all day and see how the fish respond with any tidal movement

I fish Bass on the neaps (mostly at night) and usually find hungry goldies. Just need to move around looking for them, and move on once they go off the bite.

20ft shark cat would be a great offshore boat!

Hi sharky,
Loee is best fished on the big springs , it seems to have not as strong a run but still
plenty of movement. Neaps are hard work so I be trying some drifting to help find the fish.
Might have a better chance around Bass or the bottom end of Lorna as there is a lot more structure
and as jabsy said they go off the bite so keep moving.
Good luck .
Sharky87

Post by Sharky87 »

Cheers jeffish, might try lorna haven't been out there yet,
Theodosius you are right it's excellent offshore, never had to travel below 20knots even when it's blowing over 30!! And with twin yammy 115's cruises at 28 and top speed of 46knots!!

Just make sure you know where the Exclusion Zone is on Lorna.
It takes out most of the middle section but still plenty of ground
to explore .
Anon

Post by Anon »

The shark cats are awesome. Mate has a kevlar cat 6.5m with twin suzi 140 on the back. Cruises nice and hooks along at 70kph when up it. The cat is the only boat to ever make me seasick through. They handle completely different and throws my gut off big time
miickk

Post by miickk »

We were fishing near you on Sunday i think, i was in the old silver 5.2 center console and faded blue bimini (and the leccie anchor locked) (had the baloon out, lost 1 big mackie and got 1 shark and gave up on the balloon). i find where we were fishes better on springs and build up to springs, we also got a few bluebone that day as well which never done before there.

I Find it better to fish the reefs and marks like fish reef and that area on the smaller tides rather then loee, but if you go back to where u are, there is a distinct dropoff/ledge where u were last week if u can remember seeing us, its only about 20m long, just follow the midway of that looking for schools
Sharky87

Post by Sharky87 »

Hey Miickk yes I do remember your boat and saw that you were balooning.
We covered the same area in 4 drifts.
Good spot to remember for the future.
If you see me their come over and say g'day.
Might try lorna on Sunday see how we go.
Sharky87

Post by Sharky87 »

Alright, change of plans.
Looks like we are doing lorna shoal Saturday night now.

Will update everyone on how we go cheers

Nice. Looks like that wind will drop for you too. I'd be out myself but I'm on call this weekend...
Sharky87

Post by Sharky87 »

So for any one whos interested.

Launched the boat at east arm at 4pm saturday arvo, was still blowing pretty hard.
Made the run out, by the time we got to charles Point, was still blowing hard 18-20 knots. Pushed on.
By the time we made it to Lorna wind had dropped to about 10 knots. Sounded around and had a drop.
Drifted a few spots mainly ock ock and sharks, though ended up with 2 black jew, not monsters but a 70cm and a 86cm so they went in the esky.
By 10pm the wind was back up and was lumpy so we decided to head in, which i was fuming about as forecast was for under 10knots all night!!!
Anyways bumpy as the whole way back to the Harbour, sat on between 15-18knots on the way in. decided to go around to town hall holes and anchor up.
Got 2 runs through the early hours of the morning though dropped both.
Back at ramp by 8am.
All in all pretty dissapointing, hope to hit lorna through the day in a few weeks on a Calmer day.

Thats it sometimes mate , bloooody weathermen .
Not a nice place in 20knts but at least you had
the boat to handle it.
Cheers for the update .