Ethanol

Ethanol

Just reading in a mag (its probably been in plenty) do not use Ethanol in outboards if you have been and havnt had a problem its only a matter of time I can drag out the mag if anyone wants to know more.

SMITHY

Post by SMITHY »

i read the same thing this week in our automotive news mag, also not many bikes are able to use it either :shock:
They say time is money, I dont have much money cause my times spent fishing
doggies66

Post by doggies66 »

You only have to look at the damage ethanol has done to certain vehicles to be vary of it..................

It's hard on livers too ...

Never used it and never will, heard nothing but bad reports rather pay a little extra and get quality clean fuel. Again this is where fuel companies are the crooks :evil: , distributoring high amounts of ethanol fuel for fark all $$$ then selling it off to the public and what you think is a reasonable price, not to mention the incredible save you make when spending $30 at woolies to get a voucher...wow bonus :bonk: . Ive always filled at BP the've been serving the roads longer than anyone else and least ya know its 100% petroleum, or is it :-?, there all still a bunch of crooks if you ask me :fubird:

my dads mate who is a v8 specialist tunned my car to run on the premium ethnol fuel. reckons its the choice fuel for older v8''s cause it has a higher octane and burns better. mine is a leaded car so i run flashlube as well.. so far so good (12months).. im only using it cause he told me to do so, not cause of the price.. one thing ive noticed is it has a very different smell to other fuels when running. i use to run bp premium in it and made no diff. either way with a 650 4 barrel holley it needs tuning pretty regularly :bricks:

coroboreebandit wrote:my dads mate who is a v8 specialist tunned my car to run on the premium ethnol fuel. reckons its the choice fuel for older v8''s cause it has a higher octane and burns better. mine is a leaded car so i run flashlube as well.. so far so good (12months).. im only using it cause he told me to do so, not cause of the price.. one thing ive noticed is it has a very different smell to other fuels when running. i use to run bp premium in it and made no diff. either way with a 650 4 barrel holley it needs tuning pretty regularly :bricks:
Better hurry and sell it then before you do have problems :rofl:

C-B wrote: it has a very different smell to other fuels

Do you need different size nostrils for sniffing unleaded vs ethanol blends??? :shock:

Timbo

Post by Timbo »

I don't usually focus on things we have no control over but while we are On the fuel topic, I filled the patrol up not that long ago at an un named servo and my 30ltr sub tank usually takes about 32ltrs max and it empties directly into the main tank till its empty. Well this place told me i had put 35ltrs in it. An extra 3 ltrs, yeah right! But how do we really know if we are really getting a litre at the pump? We have no idea!!!!! There is nothing we can do about it, so i just don't full up there any more. Same as the governments fuel watch, what a load of crock that is!! It just makes them look like they are doing something where anyone can watch fuel prices, infact i do it weekly. I would have about as much influence as the entire fuel watch program the government is wasting money on. No control over this one either.
Failure is only an event, Not a lifestyle