NTMAG June/July edition is out

North Australian FISH FINDER TM is printed again in 2024.

NTMAG June/July edition is out

In the June/July (third) edition of NTMAG for 2008:

* Darwin: Mackerel and Milkies - Harmsey
* Billfish: Get Ready for Season - Mal Miles
* Special: Middle Arm Aerial Pictures at Low Tide - Matt Flynn
* Billabongs: Yellow Waters - Peter Ticehurst
* Green Matters: Healthy Rivers - WWF
* Maintenance: Galvanic Corrosion - Jason McCarthy
* Time and Tide: Bluewater Time - Paul Van Bruggen
* Project: The Doevy Smoker - Shane Doevy
* Spot of the Day: Apsley Strait - Nat Rogers
* GPS Marks: Larrakeyah Lumps - Matt Flynn
* Spearfisher: Early Season - Rick Trippe
* Diver: Old Man Rock - Sash Muller
* Boats: Big Barcrushers - Matt Flynn
* Motors: The Future of Fuel - Matt Flynn
* Rod Maker: Versatile Spin Stick - Larry Lockwood
* Research: Mud Crabs - Mike Phelan
* Habitat: Gender Benders - Helen Larson
* Hotspot: The Alley - Matt Flynn
* Traveller: Caravan Boat Trailer - 'Vince Mancuso'
* Camping: Elsey NP - NRETA
* 12 Volts: Improve Phone Range - Tony Copley
* The Hammer: Motor Maintenance - Paul Van Bruggen
* Politics: Fishing Survey - Chris Natt
* AFANT: What are we Worth? - Chris Makepeace
* Down the Track: Groote Barra - Andrew Dahl
* Remote: Groote Eylandt Life - Torret Hobbs
* Firearms: Calibres for NT Game - 'Vince Mancuso'
* Your Fishing Pictures
* Maritime History: The Booya - Paul Clark
* Tackle Talk: Leaders - Craig Grosvenor
* Tinny Boys: It’s not Catching - Rob Smith
* Memoirs: Fyshe and Crabbes - Col Mellon
* Fishosophy: Celebrity Fishing - Darren Hill
* Fast Bucks: Earn Cash - Nat Rogers
* Trades and Products
* World Fisho: Peacock Bass - Paul Reiss
Also the regular features

* From the FFF Forums
* News in Brief
* Your fishing and hunting photos
* Clubs and Events

It's at newsagents across Australia as well as tackle shops in Darwin, NT.

http://www.fishfinderbooks.com/store/pr ... cts_id/168

stuart

Post by stuart »

looks fantastic, will nick out and grab it, I missed the first edition do you still have back issues available?

Yes, there is an online two-for-one deal on the first two issues so collectors can still get them all affordably. All the mags have fishing spots in them so they are collectable.

http://www.fishfinderbooks.com/store/in ... b54f19ef6e

They hit Darwin newsagents tomorrow arvo (Thursday) - there was a delay apparently, but NT tackle shops already have the June/July issue.

Matt

Just some distribution feedback. I found the first edition in Kununurra but not the second?? Will look for the third and let you know if it turns up

Matt Flynn wrote:They hit Darwin newsagents tomorrow arvo (Thursday) - there was a delay apparently, but NT tackle shops already have the June/July issue.
Yeah I found that one out the hard way today Matt, went to all the major newsagents, none of them have them yet, they all told me 10th they'll be in.

But yes, then I realised I should've just gone to a tackle shop in the first place :banghead:

FYI, BCF don't have them though?

Anyway, i'm happy, i've got my morning reading for tomorrows fishing adventure. :coffee:
I might go see if I can take some chunks outa my prop in middle arm. 8-)

Dick wrote:Matt

Just some distribution feedback. I found the first edition in Kununurra but not the second?? Will look for the third and let you know if it turns up
Same down here in Hedland. Got the first but not the second. Just happened to get up to Darwin for the weekend and got the second edition. :cheers:

Thanks for the feedback - I am chasing all this, will get it sorted out where possible :mrgreen:
noundz

Post by noundz »

Great Mag 8-) got it while I was in Darwin. They still aren't offering it over here on Groote though :| Unless they were sold out when i looked :-?

matt,

i think the mag could look at a regular land-based fishing column in and around darwin.

tides, tactics species and so on...

there have been a few good fff stories on land based fishing, like whiting etc, but i for one would like to read something from blokes who do well at east point etc.

another thing that might improve the mag too...

I really like the arial shots of the harbour, but would love to see a smaller insert of a map of the area on the same page, (say from the FF Mag) to give you an idea on what section of the river/harbour the photo is taken from.

i too really enjoy reading col mellons stuff, and even though i havent been shooting since i was a kid, i really enjoy the pieces on guns ammo etc. very interesting stuff. Even the one-off artilces like JasonMc's article on corrosion is great. You dont get that in the southern ad-dominated magazines.

keep going with it mate, and for mine dont fill it full of road test and product tests...even though i know it is important for sponsors dollars :wink: :wink:

i am running hot on ideas at the moment...

i also reckon over the next few episodes it would be good to have someone do some basic sounder tutorials...

i am sure there are a few good tips amongst a few of our fff sounder gurus to help out us nuffies. obviously covering major features not just in top of the range units would be great.

perhaps the article could rank the most important features to adjust in decending order...like, what it the most important, second most important and so on.

this could come in two articles, one for snags/rockbars in rivers, and one for bottom bashing

flippenheck

Post by flippenheck »

Just got the magazine yesterday at West Lakes, Adelaide :smile: :smile:

Now I have to find a moment to read it :grin: Had quick look through and there are some fantastic photos being taken, well done to all :clap: :clap:
Flippenheck

They still aren't offering it over here on Groote though
I did ask the newsagent distributor to send some there. I guess they had to get their atlas out and couldn't find it on the map so they didn't bother :rofl:
noundz

Post by noundz »

No worries Matt, checked the other day and it was there :mrgreen: