Advice on buying a 2nd hand boat

Talk about the gear you can't afford and knots you can't tie.
RedDevil
Gold Member
Gold Member

Advice on buying a 2nd hand boat

Post by RedDevil »

Hi all
I'm in the market for my first boat! 8)
Looking at something around the 5m mark and 2nd hand.
Is there anything specific I should be looking out for when viewing?
cheers

Captain6979
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Re: Advice on buying a 2nd hand boat

Post by Captain6979 »

I've only bought the 1 boat so far, but would suggest seeing a leak-test done on any potential boats. Fill it with some water, and check for leaks. I'd be asking for any paperworks for services/repairs etc, if theres a motor on it already.
Maybe take a fabricator/welder person with you, to check over the hull as well, to check for cracks/ deficiencies. But then again, im a rookie to the boat-game. :)
Captain6979
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by Captain6979 »

I've only bought the 1 boat so far, but would suggest seeing a leak-test done on any potential boats. Fill it with some water, and check for leaks. I'd be asking for any paperworks for services/repairs etc, if theres a motor on it already.
Maybe take a fabricator/welder person with you, to check over the hull as well, to check for cracks/ deficiencies. But then again, im a rookie to the boat-game. :)
al57
Seadog
Seadog

Post by al57 »