Best Northern Territory fishing guide?

Bluefin

Best Northern Territory fishing guide?

Post by Bluefin »

Hi Guys,

I'm hoping you guys can assist me with recommendations around who the best
Northern Territory fishing guide would be for around the $350 pp (full day charter)?

I am looking at doing a special father and son trip with my 10 year old son and given we'll be travelling from Tasmania, I just want to make sure he has a great trip and catches a fish or two.

Any recommendations you guys have will be very much appreciated.

Anyone used Barra Boat Hire Charters? Gets good reviews and plenty of comments about it being a good trip.

Thanks again,

Matt.

Re: Best Northern Territory fishing guide?

What are you chasing Barra or reef fish ?
Bluefin

Post by Bluefin »

Hi Shaggs,

Thanks for your interest and sorry I left that bit out of my last post. Mate to be honest I'd just love for my son to catch a Barra and I know its fishing and anything can happen (including no fish) but if we could tick that off the list then I'd probably consider another day of the same or maybe some Bluewater type stuff. I assume there are guides that specialise in certain things (e.g. just Barra) but per the above if there is a good guide about that could possibly do both then that sounds good. I saying all that, its is probably a case of fitting in with what's happening with what they have booked etc and what's biting at the time. Also, it would be early to mid October that we'd be going.

Thanks again for the reply as nothing beats local knowledge and experience.

Matt.

Out of Darwin at the billabongs - Spring Tide, Obsession, DNA, Territory Guided Fishing.

In Darwin Harbour - contact Chris Hurt at the shop Fishing and Outdoor World, he operates Lure One Fishing Charters. He does harbour barra and Lee Point mackerel, probably would chase other harbour species on request. Probably a good way to fish with your son.

Early/mid Oct is prime for both metery barra and reef fish
hottuna

Post by hottuna »

Hey Mate,
Bit of a disclaimer as I'm a guide myself but I also know the best way to get the most out of your trip.
The best thing you can do is get on the phone and speak to a few operators.
Be clear with your wishes and don't be afraid to ask lots of questions.
Where are you fishing at that time of year, species available etc.
Once you've touched base, follow it up with an email so you have all your info and go from there.
If doing multiple days fishing, ask about accommodation and do your own research.
Personally, I would NOT recommend bringing a 10yr old from Tassie and dropping him in to the Territory build up.
It can be a brutal time of year, especially in the rivers. It does produce some excellent fishing but I personally think the conditions would detract from your enjoyment.
If it's a one off trip, I'd look towards May as it offers you excellent options for both Barra and Bluewater
Jason from Wildside and Glenn from Barefoot Fishing are both great operators when it comes to dealing with younger clients and will make him feel like royalty
Bluewater Dreamin'
Bluefin

Post by Bluefin »

Hi Guys,

Thank you all very much for the tips and advice. Hottuna - good to have your perspective on it all too and will certainly take all those things on board. Seems to be a lot of guides up there and as with anywhere it's just hard to know unless you have that local knowledge.

Thanks again.

Matt.
Bluefin

Post by Bluefin »

Hottuna - Sorry can't seem to reply on the whole PM thing but just want to say you have been awesome with your honest and open advice and help, thank you heaps. If we can get my son onto some fish and see the Crocs etc, I'll be happy.

Out of interest, as we might have a day or two up our sleeve, can you fish in and around the Darwin harbour land based of the pier area? It's been a few years since I was there but I imagine there is a safe spot to fish up on the piers away from the waters edge?!

Hi Bluefin ,
You need 10posts before you can reply to PM's .

As for L/Base fishing around Darwin there are plenty of safe spots to try , East pt & Lee pt are great spots to take kids . Also Mandora jetty is a short ferry ride across the harbour and is one of the better piers to fish from . Not sure what fishing gear you have but you may need something a bit heavier than barra gear to fish the jetty's .