2018 Iron Jack NT Barramundi Classic

Public and private club events - results and battle stories. And any other club news ...
Simmo83

Re: 2018 Iron Jack NT Barramundi Classic

Post by Simmo83 »

Flickin4em wrote:200 plus entrants 97 of them went home without a single point on the board, empty eskys and a killer hangover.

Fun times. :mrgreen:
Not quite right, from my memory, there may have only been 3 or 4 anglers without a point scoring fish, a few people and a few teams had doughnut days but people wised up and found the fish as required. lots of focus around Alligator Head and then moving up the river as the tide built.

Bruce Simpson
197 Pioneer Sportfish - 175hp Honda.
Ex Sandgroper from Karratha
Member of KBGFC and DGFC.

I have fished 22 Classics, it is by far and away the highlight of the fishing year. Obviously catching fish is a huge part, it's not the bee all and end all, getting together with great mates, getting away from the lounge room, getting on the river for the week is also a big part of the enjoyment.

I for one wouldn't miss it for quids........
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Bazzabait

Post by Bazzabait »

Flicken4em, the Classic is invitational mate so you probably won't have the option. :bonk: :fu:

At last some feeling on a topic again. :eating: :eating:
Sullo

Post by Sullo »

Flickin4em wrote:With 22 classics up yr sleeve why aren't you in the top few teams blinky ? Thought you'd have it sorted by now mate :rofl:
Whooosh
Flicken4em

You should be a porn star :rofl:

Flickin4em wrote:
Bazzaturbait wrote:Flicken4em , the Classic is invitational mate so you probably won't have the option. :bonk: :fu:
Who actually gets an invite bazzaturbait I've seen a few interstate teams every year so do they have to "qualify" in a few comps or something mate ?

I couldn't be bothered competing even if I was sponsored for the entry fee or even the whole weeks efforts myself Seeing as Shane (the legend ) Compain only got 34 scoring fish (even 50cm rats count too) for a whole week on the Daly to win it . Bugger that for a joke boys, I'd get that in an hour or 2 with a couple of mates at my local spots and have 5 grand up my sleeve still.

But if you had fun getting blind and catching bugger all for the entire time thats the main thing hey ? ....
It’s funny how you never hear “Shane the ledend Compain” (as you say) talk about him self the way you do. If you think you could nail it so easy, enter and take home all the prizes. It would be a good investment. But this would mean you would be putting them on the line, and I somehow don’t think you would have them.
I also never heard cimpain give others poop, especially blokes he doesn’t even know (and also seems to be very well respected if the fishing community) saying rubbish like why are you still so sh|t after 22 years.
Then you have the audacity to winge that not enough people compliment you when you put a post up.

Flickin4em wrote:Couple of questions :

So what do u get for your for $5130 ?
Do you get a powered site for 5 days and a few feeds of an evening ?
Or just a patch of dirt and you have to cook for yourself.?
What's the go to fuel up after each day ?
Do you still need to supply yr own beers puchased from the local pub ?
Who sorts out lunches and snacks?
Are they supplied in the entry fee?
How many fish did u get ?
What was yr biggest 1 ?
Can u bring p..s out from Darwin legally nowadays ?
Why do you ask, it's wasted money as you say........

Flickin4em wrote:With 22 classics up yr sleeve why aren't you in the top few teams blinky ? Thought you'd have it sorted by now mate :rofl:
Obviously I'm not as good a fisherman as you think you are....

Bazzaturbait wrote:Flicken4em , the Classic is invitational mate so you probably won't have the option. :bonk: :fu:
That's pretty well hit the nail on the head.......

FITZY

Post by FITZY »

I love this friendly banter haha

He caught some good times.

Very few people are worried about dollars-per-kilo.

Flickin4em wrote:Thanks for the helpful info there blinky... what did u actually catch for yr few grand?
Check the board, I got a few.

As Matt says:
Matt Flynn wrote:He caught some good times.

Won’t be long now

Why do marathon runners pay entry fees and travel all around the world to run with other people. Why do train their arses of to go the the olympics when they could just throw a shot put in their back yard, or run really fast around the footy oval.
You seem to think that being a respected fisherman has something to do with fish caught.
Having a dig at a lure maker that in this mass production age, that can make a crust with carving and painting hand made work of arts (that I reckon are too good to be chucking in a creek). Who tinkers with a new design and post a picture and instantly has a 3 month waiting list, with not a single person asking how much, but rather how many can I have. If you can not respect that you are not the sharpest bowling ball on the pool table.

Speaking of trolling, it is no longer the winning way, funny how times change.

Lol, ahh good times. Lets all fish the remotest areas and spray a few swampie rats and say we are guns

The best fisherman catch fish in the hardest locations no matter what the conditions. So many times people who catch lots of fish in ideal conditions come to these comps and catch fark all because they have restrictions and some one else is picking the tides ect. Funny part is the winning team still had to fish with those restrictions and tides. The truely good fisherman catch more than the next because they have learnt to fish better then those wanna be,s that only fish in easy conditions and remote areas.

Yes it is a skill to know when and where but it is more of a skill to catch fish under pressure. Any way, the social side of these events plays a massive part. The fishing is only a small excuse.

Flickin4em wrote:
Matt Flynn wrote:
Well it's catch and release anyway matt so no kilos allowed for the few grand you've spent each

Blinky "check the board i got a few" is that you with 1 fish on 3 of the days and doughnuts for 2 ..... jeez mate you really are a true well respected ledgend of the North well bl..dy done, top effort. Perhaps you should try some 6 inch nilsies next lap out that way if you want to interupt you hardcore drinking trip with a few barra . :mrgreen:

Was asking as I was under the impression that Blinky handcrafts his own timber lures so was seeing if they're even any good at catching fish or just for taking up more room in the trays of wannabe fishermen.....seems the results speak for themselves hey.
Average form knocking a bloke on his hand made lures