Maggot stew with squid

Took the kids camping, and found about 8kg of writhing maggot soup in a cardboard box near our camp.

Leaving fish to rot around camp sites seems to be a popular pastime here.

Luckily I took a small mattock with us, so I buried the lot. Had to laugh because the 10,000 maggots will probably be exposed by a devil or a dog and will hatch into blowies for the Australia Day long weekend.

Otherwise some good camping was had, and we hit the jetty on the way home for calamari. I helped a bloke land a big Melbourne skate, which whacked me on the leg as I pulled it up the stairs. Luckily they have no sting, only sharp lumps on their tail.

Re: Maggot stew with squid

Nice squid

My PB :D

It actually pulled some drag ...

Box of gents, cephalopod and a pancake: good times.

Ripper Squid

Nice battle scare , would love to drop that squid down on a jewie hole , :catch:

Don't you Tazzie blokes use maggots for bait ? :fishy:

That be South Australian gar fishos Jeff. Don't think they even get gar here in southern Taz, but I could be wrong.

When I lived in UK they sold maggots by the litre, you could buy different sizes in different colours, food dye I presume.

Squid cooked up alright, I put vinegar and moroccan seasoning in the batter.

Flickin4em wrote:Live Maggots are a ripper bait for brown trout best ones are off the dead roadkill not from the tackle shops.
Don’t reckon I’d like to tuck those ones into my cheek like the old timers on the jetties.........

That's a ripper squid Matt....do they eat those rays down there?

I thought he was going to eat it, but he let it go.

Nothing wrong with rays though, if you can be bothered :)

They are very keen on shark here, some even eat mako, but I reckon it would be full of mercury.

Bought a piece of of flake with chips at a shop last week, it was a huge slab but mushy, and it sure smelt like shark. Gave it all to the chooks, minus two bites.