Anyone know what happened here

alfie

Anyone know what happened here

Post by alfie »

Hopefully all are safe

Re: Anyone know what happened here

Just saw this on FB and was wondering what happened

Now before you shoot me down just think about the benefits of boat rego.
If we had rego, a simple 10 minute investigation could be made and determine who the owners are and if they are ok.
I really cant see why people get so pi55ed off with something that would cost less than a carton of beer but has so many benefits.
Marro

Post by Marro »

I know this will start the usual flood of divided views on this but I couldn't agree more Nomad.
FITZY

Post by FITZY »

We don't need boat rego but boat identification would do or we have our trailer rego number on the boat

Rego is a double-edged sword if you stray into Aboriginal waters or make some other innocent mistake.

FITZY wrote:We don't need boat rego but boat identification would do or we have our trailer rego number on the boat
whats the diff? its a number so our boats can be i/d quickly.
Its not such a foreign concept to have some form of id on a boat. the whole world does it.

is it the $50 fee that has people up in arms?
or that our boat id can be used to fine us when we do the wrong thing. Its been on cars and trailers forever so whats the big deal.
Not sure if still happens in Tassie, but when i lived there, part of your rego fee was used to upgrade facilities that YOU nominate.

Matt makes the point that if you go into TO waters then you could get into strife. easy, dont go there!

Im open for someone to make a valid argument as to why no rego should happen here. Saying 'go home southerner' isnt valid BTW. :lol:

nomad wrote:
FITZY wrote: is it the $50 fee that has people up in arms?
or that our boat id can be used to fine us when we do the wrong thing. Its been on cars and trailers forever so whats the big deal.

Im open for someone to make a valid argument as to why no rego should happen here. Saying 'go home southerner' isnt valid BTW. :lol:
None of the above. If you discuss it on the Facebook, its just against our territory lifestyle. A bit like "the vibe" in The Castle.

So it remains that there is no I.D. on our boats, and no requirement to show that you know the rules of the waterways before getting in your boat while blind drunk.
FITZY

Post by FITZY »

if the introduce rego I reckon licencing will follow
Defiant

Post by Defiant »

Do you know it cost $250 a year to register a boat in W.A 5m - 9.9m :banghead:

I got enough bills and poop to pay, and at the end of the day I don't want to fork out another couple hundred dollars just so I can use my boat each year.

Most boats have names on them, why can't we just register the names that are already on our boats, like when you register your Epirb to your boat.
People that don't want to name there boat can just get their trailer # or something along those lines.

I'm happy with paying a one time SMALL fee for that, but rego is just a gateway for the government to rape us just that little bit more!

My 2 Cents anyways :cheers:

looks like WA is out of step
Sa 5m = 128
Vic over 4m = $86
Qld = $105

less than a tank of fuel, etc

doesnt matter how they do it, just do it - we need some form of id

the world wont cave in. :D

A community group could easily set up a free computer generated rego, and people buy their own stickers. Voluntary system. No need for another government revenue source, they already have GST, fuel excise, income tax, corporate tax, vehicle rego, speeding fines etc.
COOPS

Post by COOPS »

It's just another cost. If it comes in watch boat licences follow. More dollars
jpb15

Post by jpb15 »

DUI Next
Sick of coming home Fishless

nomad wrote:Matt makes the point that if you go into TO waters then you could get into strife. easy, dont go there!
Lets see how we go with that one after 1st January 2018..... Won't be many places that aren't classified as TO waters.

Return to “Lost & Found”