i eithier make them into cutlets and put them over the coals or beer batter

yellowbelly really nice anyway!

gammo42

Re: Show us your biggest Brown or Rainbow TROUT

Post by gammo42 »

Okay, here is a real one. Way back in the old days of 1991 from Lake Eildon - Jamieson Arm. From memory (lots of beer since then!) it was between 65-70cm. Caught on a very small green timber lure which still sits in my shed to remind me of the capture.

Gammo
SteveB

Post by SteveB »

Nice fish guys, I love the colours of the trout. Very pretty.
The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb

ajbear

Post by ajbear »

Ah the old spotted carp!!!!! Never really been a fan of them but I have caught some pretty decent ones as by catch while fishing for other species, will have to see if I have a few pics somewhere!
Just remember if all else fails "try like F##K" !!!!!!!
MOUSE

Post by MOUSE »

this is about 12 years ago, & still can't beat it
not quite a rainbow or brown but a trout none the less :catch:
bigtrout (Small).jpg
Boars, Barra, Bundy & Bare Arsed
Adventure Before Dementia
aidan.cronin

Post by aidan.cronin »

I've never caught a true trout.
Hopefully a Cod and some delicious perch will cut it.
My Nan has alway said she was raised on redfin perch. :chef1:
breamtim

Post by breamtim »

Couple of nice western vic trout and redfin over the last week- Reddies to 48cm and trout to 56

Crackers mate, well done :mrgreen:
breamtim

Post by breamtim »

Matt Flynn wrote:Crackers mate, well done :mrgreen:
Thanks mate. Just impatiently waiting for my first trip up north in a few weeks!

Some trout from lake dartmouth a few weeks ago

Looks nice and warm!

Dartmouth is a ripper spot used to go out in my uncles 12 ft tinny with a 15 hp rigged up with celtas or Tassie Devils trolling behind big homemade bladed flashers ... try the lumo tassie devils.

( medium sized ) use the down rigger for the ones down deep and planing boards to get further out to the side away from the boat noise if running the surface in the dawn and dusk periods. Has it got many cod ? We got a few horse trout in the mitta mitta river too. over the years ...better if the Hume wier has bugger all water though the big snags on the old river bed are cracker spots for a live yabbie. Got one on a Rapala CD3 last year and it had one about 80mm in its gut.

Thanks fella's,

I enjoyed those photo's...didn't think I would...but I did :bonk:

This one went 52cm caught on a rapala CD 3 off a small stream mostly 30 -50cm deep but it does have a few larger and much deeper pools in between the runs... bl..dy freezing as I found out when I had to strip off and walk out to a snag in 1.2m to get my lure back. Using the ever reliable full body lure retrival technique. Just before I walked another 50m upstream to get onto this beast... :D

I've got a few bigger ones a few years back but that was the best 1 for last years trip to my uncles property.
I didn't get that excited as even on a 6lb setup it was easily tamed. I laughed when everyone I showed the pic to got so excited and wanted to know the spot, lure colourand type, retrive used and the time of day etc.etc. as we use queenfish bigger than that as strip baits up here in Darwin on the reefs trolling for Mackies ... spoilt I know. :mrgreen:

But when in trout country. ..... it's the catch of the day. !!! :drinking8:
breamtim

Post by breamtim »

My biggest brown out of a local river