Shady not firing yet...

Went on wed and thurs. heaps of rigs in the carpark. ..

Launched on high tide. No incidents out to tommycut in the dark fished hard for 2 days got 2 barra just legal casting at drains no big ones trolling the mouth of 3 different cks :marsh tommycut and sampan

Got a grand total of 6 bites 3 landed for 1 small threadfin and 2 little barra we got the salmon trolling back in on the way home in sampan. The fish are on the sounder just not biting much yet. Everyone has the same story.

Only 18 boats trolling sampan mouth on Thursday.

Didn't see anyone else land a fish all trip got a few nice pics to remember it by unfortunately not many fish pics this time.

(one lost by a bloke at the boat about to net it.) :banghead:

Barrage is up to the cleaning table still

able to retrieve on low tide no worries.

When it does fire its going to be spectacular aswell as total chaos. The road had a few small potholes but is generally in good nick otherwise.

Good luck and be patient with the crowd and tolerate the other idiots out there. Everyone is just trying to do their best in the current situation. We can't all be legends all the time. ... :D

:catch:

:fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy: :fishy:

Re: Shady not firing yet...

Good report, I experienced the same this time last week. Every report apart from old mate who cleaned up with the 2 90's and the 80 odd reported the other day. Don't under stand why it's not firing up, was in previous years under the same conditions but less rain. Hopefully it will go soon, but I'm not soo sure it will. Maybe the few bad years and fishing pressure is taking its toll. I couldn't even raise a thready, although did have a few blues hit out lures along the coast.

Cheers for the report. We retrieved Wednesday before the 50 other boats, was about as shallow as I'm comfortable with so for safety's sake assume dead low is too shallow. Plenty of fish on the sounder at Sampan mouth, all we got was a sea snake. 30-odd rats at the barrages as consolation.

Great report, thanks for sharing.

We fished there last Wednesday for one salmon. Drop a big girl on the turn of the low and deckie drop 2 smaller models . All our hits came within 15 mins and it was dead. 8-10 boats working the outter patches near us got hook ups but saw a couple 80-90 landed.

The side scan was quite all day until the turn of the low then they turned up in numbers for 15min a then disappeared.

Bit of a discrepancy between the two reports of water level at the barrage??
Scotty69

Post by Scotty69 »

Launched Thursday morning 0600, plenty of water. Came back Fri arvo 1600 and was low but enough water comfortably.

Commercial guy was unloading fish and refuelling off a truck at the ramp. That will probably explain (in my opinion) why Finke Bay was exceptionally quiet.