G'day to all!

Tasbream

G'day to all!

Post by Tasbream »

G'day to all the crew at the forum!

My name is James and I a completely new to the Darwin area - and it wasn't on a our planned route AT All.... But after sustaining damage to one of our props half way across the Arafura sea en route to Indonesia, Darwin was our only emergency point of call at all for repairs, currently I am sitting way out in the bay on anchor on that big white thing some of you may have seen already.... This for me is not the end of the world because Darwin has ALWAYS been on my list of places to fish..

In saying that I am a mad keen fisherman, like mad mad keen.. Coming from Tasmania I am also a very keen fly fisherman and carry a 9wt with me just incase any sight fishing oppertinities arise..!

So I am writing firstly to inteoduce myself and secondly see if any advice can be given to a complete newbie to NT?
I've been reading non stop through the forum and it has some great infomation, the reason I am posting in the land based section is because I will mostly be fishing landbased ( mods if there is an appropriate thread please feel free to move :) ) although having access to a tender the question was somewhat frowned apon when asked if I could take it for a buzz with my rod - also not having a clue where to start!!

With me I am carrying a med to heavy popping outfit ( not sure if it is at all usable around these parts ) for GT's n' the likes... A 7'6 spin stick loaded with 30lb braid for everyday lure throwing use.. And my 9wt fly rod..

If anyone could at all suggest some easily accessible landbased options for a car-less fisherman ( our tender drop off point is stokes hill wharf - I don't mind spending a few $$$ on taxi travel if need be also.. ) it would be so gratefully appreciated !!

Thanks again for the time.

Jimmy

Simmo83

Re: G'day to all!

Post by Simmo83 »

the way you stated it sounded like it was your boat! I saw you guys arriving yesterday, I was in the 20ft fibreglass centre console heading west in the morning. if the tides pick up schools of queenfish, trevally and mackerel can be had from your anchorage, I was casting to them on a incoming tide only a few weeks ago, this weather might stop the fun but. Land based with this weather I'd have to say Channel Island would be the go on a outgoing tide out of the westerly wind, big taxi fare but, it'd be cheaper to rent a car for the day I reckon. good chance to use the fly rod and the spn stick. leave the popping gear at home.
Bruce Simpson
197 Pioneer Sportfish - 175hp Honda.
Ex Sandgroper from Karratha
Member of KBGFC and DGFC.
Tasbream

Post by Tasbream »

Thanks for the info there Bruce, gratefully appriciated !

Ive just recently got off the phone to one of the local guides here ( I've been looking to do a day charter with a few days off I have up my sleeve early in the new year ) and unfortunately everything is either closed up for the season or they won't go out for anything less than 3ppl - full day private coming in well over budget at $1200 unfortunately :/

If anyone is heading out and has a spare seat and is keen for someone to tag along from the 1st - 3rd Jan please don't hesitate to say! I am more than happy to throw fuel money wherever it may be needed :)

James

Also if anyone has any other suggestions for a guide to try who might be operating over those dates please let me know :)

You could try soft plastics or small hard bodies in around the rock walls of the wharf area. Pretty low risk of crocodiles. Morning, afternoon or evening if you have a head torch.

Just note that you can't fish in the lagoon nor at either end of the main wharf which are all exclusion zones.

You could also venture further around the Southern side towards the grassed area (the deck chair cinema) towards the rocky headland there. All a short walk, maybe a chance for barra, bream, cod, jacks or queenies.
Tasbream

Post by Tasbream »

cheers for the heads up there dannett :)

I actually ventured around to the deck chair cinema area yesterday afternoon for a quick little bash off some info from a local tackle store, it was a little windy on the beak and water kinda discoloured from all this rain I guess.? Made me wonder if it turns the fish off or not ?
I spun from almost the corner to the fenced area with poppers and metals for no dice... Also on the journey I had a poke around the wharf.. Not much moving except one almighty large, once off slash across the surface - I quickly covered with my popper but Nothing moved again. Not to worry though, next time I get to shore I'll be giving it a decent run ( weather permitting.. )

Thank you also for re assuring me on the croc front, coming from Tasmania we only really have to worry about those men in grey suits.. Not these dinosours !!

Beggars can't be choosers but It would be amazing to finally tick a Barra off the list, although I've not been chasing them for long the itch to nail one is crazy! Also a queenie too... Come to think of it really, most of the lure grabbing fish around here are completely new to me!

Thanks again for the advice :)

Cheers jimmy

Oh and simmo83, I'm pretty sure I gave you a wave when you came past the boat the other day ;)
STOKESY77

Post by STOKESY77 »

If you just want to know what it's like to catch a barra try the barra farm, guaranteed to catch one there :mrgreen:
Give a man a fish, You'll feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, You'll feed him for a lifetime!

Just note that I didn't say croc free.

Might still be worth a persistent flick just before sunrise and for the first hour after. For barra you probably want to concentrate along the bank more than out from it. Hit up the areas you noticed from today that had current lines and eddies.
Tasbream

Post by Tasbream »

Truths be told stokeys I actually ventured to a Barra farm while the boat was based in Brisbane - although no so proud to claim it at all I managed a 75cm on the fly... However this doesn't really count at all and was more so an act of desperation Hahahaha !

While in cairns a few weeks back I managed to hook a great fish inside the marina after dark only to have it cartwheel all over the place and throw the hooks..
Also while we were there I booked a day out with a guide and took the girl friend, who managed to get 2 to the boat for the day ( her first proper fish - 68cm & 74cm ) with me only to get a estuary cod after 6hrs of throwing lures.. At this moment I vowed that was her first and last trip out hahaha ( big jokes, actually super proud she managed it all on her own! And hopefully it's sparked a little passion :) )

Re the croc front, I totally understand that they could be anywhere at any given time and to be aware / " croc safe " and of upmost importancance.. Although in saying that keeping 5mtrs away from the water makes it hard at the end of your retreval !

Cheers again

Jim
RedDevil

Post by RedDevil »

Try around the front of east point, mindil beach and the casino, incoming tide. Always worth a flick for barra and queenies and close to the city.
Tasbream

Post by Tasbream »

Cheers reddevil, Pretty much can't wait to get off the boat and try getting into a few... Try being the key word.

All this rain though... Does it turn the fish off??
Simmo83

Post by Simmo83 »

How did you go! If I didn't have 4 on board I would have grabbed you on the way to west arm. Didn't miss mich, bait was thin but the prawns where there, a few swipes on the lures but home for donuts. bl..dy rough trip but, reminds me of home
Bruce Simpson
197 Pioneer Sportfish - 175hp Honda.
Ex Sandgroper from Karratha
Member of KBGFC and DGFC.
Tasbream

Post by Tasbream »

G'day simmo! After 1 n a half days solid fishing I'm still Barra free...! Got a few little cod at buffalo yesterday and a small jack on the way home at rapid.. Today I'm out on a mission with the girlfriend at the jumping croc gig on the Adelaide river, might have to have a little poke further afield once the tours done for a little barra! Seems to be lots of water out this way so fingers crossed.

Cheers for the thought mate! Bummer you didn't pull any - maybe next time huh!

Cheers again

Jimmy

Return to “Landbased”