Re: Let's see your rig

Beautiful setup mate, well done.

Anon

Post by Anon »

Thanks guys. He did a good job and put my ideas into practise perfectly...

Last few pics attached of the anchor well etc
Tommy222220_0

Post by Tommy222220_0 »

My rig.

Got her off gumtree 6 months ago. Old mate didn't even put a photo online - so scored a bargain.

5.25 Allycraft tank, 115 4st Suzuki.
Huge cast deck, 180l esky underneath, 450l fuel, 100l water tanks, (even has shower on the back)

Been fixing her up with a few electronics, motorguide, hds9, vhf + stereo.

Got a couple trips round Darwin planned, then off to the Berkeley in April :)

that's a beauty mate....450ltrs of fuel is impressive. I reckon with that weight you could do with a upgrade to a tandem trailer though!
Tommy222220_0

Post by Tommy222220_0 »

Not that often it gets filled to the brim. 100l is fine for day trips.

Wonder how much a 50mm axle is rated too?

Anyone know where the public weighbridge is?

Not just the axle Tommy...also spreading the load across the tyres....just a suggestion mate based on my experience is all! Anyway..enjoy!
feeds

Post by feeds »

50mm Square Axle will be rated to about 1500kg from memory.

Dexter setup takes you to 2t I think.

Public weighbridge near East Arm I think I read on here.
Makrel

Post by Makrel »

Makrel wrote:
IMG_20150630_122314.jpg
Well the new boat arrived and its awesome. Replaces Tiger Boat I posted on 15th May.
23 foot Carolina Cat center console. Twin 115 Suzuki's.
Only been out once but it did not have to slow down in 20 knot Darwin Harbour afternoon chop, and also fished well in 300mm of water.
20150702_102207_resized.jpg
Thought I would give you an update on my dream rig now it is a year old. first photo is her when new.

Then see current photos.

I loved the boat - very very sad!!!!!!!!!!!!

Crikey!! What happened?

Gee mate, what happened?

Damn sorry to hear, what caused that?

Makrel

Post by Makrel »

Fire investigators yesterday told me the source was a battery charger that charges the trolling motor batteries from the cranking battery. It just flashed over around 6am when the boat was sitting at mooring in Cullen Bay.

Sad to see ,such a nice boat go up in flames . Not the first time I've heard of battery chargers
causing a fire .

Hope you insurance comes through for you quickly .

Which charger?
Makrel

Post by Makrel »

Yes lets hope insurance comes to the rescue>>>

Realistically, even if they payout the full insured value I am expecting to be $20,000 behind if I replace like with like (boat, 36volt trolling motor, Furuno sounder, Lawrance HDS12etc).

Gee I lost $1000 in trolling motor batteries, and even lost my lucky environet, 3 x fishing pliers, Boga grips, gaff, all safety gear, billfish teasers, epirb, shifters and tools, etc, etc.

With this weekend approaching I asked my wife "what do people without boats do on the weekend to amuse themselves"? I was serious.

Return to “Boats, Motors, Vehicles & Trailers”