Thank God for our Darwin Harbour!

After so many mediocre fishing trips down The Track this last wet season, I thank God for our Darwin Harbour, full of fish and just a five minute drive from home to the boat ramp!

First trip I did recently was with a mate and we went to my ol' stomping grounds in Middle Arm on a 1.8m low.

It was a crisp dry season day - barely raised a sweat all day. The fish weren't going crazy, but we still managed a couple keeper barra and some by-catch including trevally, barracuda and a couple decent goldies. An easy feed for a half day trip.
harbour barra.jpg
dropping tide.jpg
harbour barra 2.jpg
Next trip was last weekend, again, just an easy half day trip, this time out chasing tuna with my boy Ziggy, now 15, and his mate Tate. The tides were starting to build just after the neaps. We'd just picked up a new spinning rod for Ziggy from Fishing and Outdoor World and we were keen to christen it with a decent tuna or two.

We launched at the Ski Club, and started to zip across towards Six Mile Buoy, but only got a third of the way there when we stumbled upon our first school of fish busting up. Ziggy was quick to cast, and his first shot landed right among them for an immediate hookup. The fish gave him some curry on his light spinning outfit, doing lots of circle work down below the boat. Just as Ziggy asked me whether he should tighten the drag the hooks pulled and he sat back adrenaline still running hot, cursing his bad luck.

We headed off again, and once again, before we got very far, we spotted another school, this time towards East Point. Over we zoomed and we all landed casts in the pack, but the luck was with Ziggy this day and Tate and my retrieves were ignored as Ziggy hooked up to another fast running harbour tuna. This time he turned the tables early, not wanting to let the fish dictate the fight, and the tuna came to the boat super green and thrashing about. My gaff job was on the money, and we hoisted the fish into the boat, glad to have secured a fish relatively early in the trip. It was a decent harbour tuna, and Ziggy was rapt, having dropped three tuna the last trip we'd been on, chasing them off Dundee.
hooked up.jpg
hooked up 2.jpg
harbour tuna.jpg
Off we went again, and this time we made it to Six Mile, but there was no action there, so off we went wide of East Point and there were lots of schools cruising the area, along with a few other boats driving this way and that. It was Ziggy again who connected to a fish, and like the experienced angler he is, he hustle it to the boat and the waiting gaff and into the esky it went.
harbour tuna 1.jpg
harbour tuna 2.jpg
That was it for the day, but for only a few hours on the water, we brought home enough fillets for a few family meals, and it was another great day on our wonderful Darwin Harbour.

Re: Thank God for our Darwin Harbour!

WoW ,,Ripper report Trev , great fish mate :mrgreen:

Great report Trev :mrgreen: It's always nice to head over the horizon to fish far flung destinations but the quality of pelagic and Barra fishing right on our doorstep just gets better every year.

:) Some nice fish there Trev, well done getting Ziggy amongst them
Nothing better than watching the kids have fun catching good fish, love those harbour tuna.

Great report and nice pics :applause:

The long trips are good but the short close ones can be great sometimes!!!

Nice work Trev. I can't wait to get in amongst it too. I just hope that I can find a few schools like you did

Awesome, looks like the harbour will be the last spot we'll be free to fish unfettered by land claims and restrictions

Nice fish guys. That kid is going to out fish you... Where's the competition!? :D

Cracker report :mrgreen:

Great work guys, well done