NT Billfish Log

Re: NT Billfish Log

congrats :mrgreen:

trevor schultz

Post by trevor schultz »

Nice one did you raise many other fish ? February is early might have to have a crack
Nogood

Post by Nogood »

Just seen the one but water looks great and a lot of bait
Simmo83

Post by Simmo83 »

right that's next weekend sorted, Dundee it is!
Bruce Simpson
197 Pioneer Sportfish - 175hp Honda.
Ex Sandgroper from Karratha
Member of KBGFC and DGFC.
Nogood

Post by Nogood »

Any body going for a run this weekend at dundee
Simmo83

Post by Simmo83 »

Just a quick update for you Billfishers. I went out on Saturday to North Gutter, early I know from past history but you never know, towed around the teasers and lures for a few hours before the tide change and nothing but mackerel making their expensive presence felt robbing me of a couple of lures, no sails/marlin sighted. trolled the northern edge lots of bait sitting rather deep on the drop offs (30-55m contour) the signs are there just didn't see any.

Yesterday I joined a mate and fished Dundee, Witches Nose has heaps of bait on the northern edge but lots of Macks in the morning, no sails sighted, went south towards Sail City but shallower (I wasn't driving so not sure of exactly where) we went 5-4-1 on small sails, the bites where mostly aggressive but on the outriggers, they took very large gars which proved to be our undoing getting a hook up to stick. first fish at 11.40AM yesterday, last hit at 13.40PM so it seems they came on the chew as the tide moved the most. As with Witches Nose, lots of bait around, we really should have jigged it to see what they where but didn't as the bite was on, no pods, all single fish up to maybe 15kg at best, as small as 6kg we estimate so go small on the baits and hooks and pack the 6-8kg line for some fun!
Bruce Simpson

I should have posted in here, we found a free swimming Black between nth fenton and nth gutter on sunday just gone. There was bait there but it appeared to just be chilbangin' on the surface cutting loops, flicked a twisty at it (only thing we had rigged) at it lol

2-1-1 at Sail City Saturday with a small sail about 10kg.
1-1-0 at Long Lost today
Its a good day when you can catch a barra and a billfish in the same day

Weather was fantastic but water clarity was still pretty average. Wide of Witches nose the water got a lot better and this is where we raised the single fish this morning.
Plenty of tuna with some nice longies in close to Bowra. Plenty of bait schools but they were only small hardyhead type things.
rumluck

Post by rumluck »

Went 20-8-3 last neaps off dundee. If we had have been greedy and switched the free swimmers of the back of all 3 we landed we May have bought the tally up...or down. Reckon I Might have a sicky this week...
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

General area Rumluck?
North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.
rumluck

Post by rumluck »

Not far south of witches nose mate.

I reckon i feel sick tomorrow ;)
rumluck

Post by rumluck »

4-4-3 off dundee the other day. Image[/URL]
Simmo83

Post by Simmo83 »

Been a bit quiet here of late lads, not helping us bill fishers make those Barra boys envious . I know I haven't been out for a look since April but plan to in late July or early August when I get a free weekend. Anybody else looking to head out for a stick face?
Bruce Simpson
rumluck

Post by rumluck »

I broke my leg a few weeks ago so that stuffed the last of the good weather for me. Just watching the weather over the good tides and waiting ATM.
trevor schultz

Post by trevor schultz »

Went out for a troll on the 12-7-16 water was dirty out off witches nose pushed out a bit wider water was still green found some good bait balls getting pushed up by dolphins stayed wide of the dolphins trying to keep with the bait and hooked up to a small black at 2 oclock didn't raise any other fish but only takes one fish to make it worth it. congrats to brooke on her first billfish