Roper rockbar maps and more

North Australian FISH FINDER TM is printed again in 2024.

Roper rockbar maps and more

Another lip smackin', barra jackin', anti frackin', crackalackin' maggamundi featuring Roper River rockbar maps, Limmen Bight River, the NT's Vernon Islands on spring tides, the Blue Holes, WA's Lake Kununurra, mega trevally, and more. There's also a Darwin four-month fishing and tide calendar, Mr Krill's Cryptic Crossword, Fishosophy and more.

Foreword 5
FFF Forums 6-7
Darwin Moon & Tide 8
Darwin Fishing Calendar 9
Mr Krill’s Crossword 10
Rockbar Maps: Roper River, NT 21-29
SWB: A Winning Strategy 48-49
Spearo: Barra in Odd Places 50
Boating: Fish and Ships 51
Ultralight: Snake Bay, NT 52-53
Broome: Life after Gill Nets 54-55
Kununurra: Lake Comes to Life 56-57
Trip Report: Kimberley Experience 58-65
Species: Kimberley GTs 67
Your Pictures 68-75
Fishosophy: Doomsday and Beyond 76

Grab a paper or digital copy, or a subscription, here ... http://www.fishfinderbooks.com/product_ ... cts_id=657

Also at newsagents nationally, and Darwin tackle shops.

:catch: :catch: :catch: :catch: :catch: :catch: :catch: :catch:

feeds

Re: Roper rockbar maps and more

Post by feeds »

What? I just bought the old one then damn it!

One of the handy things in this mag is a series of pix showing how to get out of the inner Gunn Point Blue Hole on a low tide. This was done with FFFer Agent86 in his boat Kaos, he showed the way through the bommies and boils in the current while I took piccies. Dennis has a great understanding of the Gunn Point area.
feeds

Post by feeds »

Matt that would be awesome. Just bought the old one though so might have to hold off for a while. This is one place i really want to fish.

Think your getting the fish finder book mixed up with the quarterly mag mate

yeah, still have to be careful though eh Matt
that place can catch you out really easy

one of the earlier trips I took to the blue holes back in early 90's I managed to take 1 and a half blades of the alloy prop on the old Johnson.
Was a bit hard getting the boat on the plane after that, but managed it, the vibration wasn't quite so bad on the plane then going back to Buff creek...lol

thought I would have wrecked the shaft or gearbox or something, but nah, motor still went good for another 10 years :-)

bommies stick up from nowhere all around the blue holes and the flats around there, just have to watch out and be careful.

siobhan88

Post by siobhan88 »

I just read the mag and it is an awesome edition, well done Matt! Getting very excited for our Roper trip this year!
because a bad days fishing ain't a bad day at all

Such a beautiful river, I am glad the planned water extraction didn't take place, but I guess it's only a matter of time when the economy booms again.

Hey Matt will there ever be a digital version of Fish Finder? The missus is giving me heaps for lugging the thing around on our OZ trip....and when it gets wet in the boat it's not great either. Would love to have an ipad version so I can read it for longer in bed as the current print version is pretty heavy to hold up after 3 hours...:)

Will do digital with some added features Andy.

I already do NTMAG as digital.

Perhaps I am wrong, but I suspect many people prefer a paper fishing map book in the boat than a tablet. It's not as if the book is a plotter ... a great many of the NT marks are on the FF GPS card for plotting.

People on this forum are probably a bit more techy than most FF readers, and might prefer digital products. But some FF readers are probably still cutting bait with flints, and good on them.

Yeah no worries..I guess the more they get wet and damaged the more you sell :):):). I have the SD card it's great. I guess it was more about the convenience of a lightweight version, I must be getting old too! ha ha. Speaking of cutting baits with flints I was on Brighton jetty the other night and a bloke was cutting his pilchard baits by biting it as he had forgotten his knife, reckon he was gonna end up eating his bait anyway so I guess no harm in getting a taste for it first.
Kaos364

Post by Kaos364 »

Picked up a copy on Friday Matt, a great and very informative read considering where my next travels will take me :D