Shady on 20-01-2016

A 'kill' sticker for each metre-long barra posted ... PM your postal details to Matt Flynn.
mcminnsmob

Shady on 20-01-2016

Post by mcminnsmob »

Hi Guys,

Well the family headed out to Shady, first time out in the boat this year.
As usual early start at the ramp on 0600hr and ~10 cars waiting to launch, the nerves kicked in wondering if we would be able to launch.
Any way all on the boat and under way at 0700hrs, with another 12 cars waiting to launch.

So as you have experienced ~45 boats at the mouth for the day, here we go.

Had issues with the motor revving at idle on 1500-2000rpm, so crunching the gears was the only way to go.
So with that issue we stayed clear of the edges to avoid crunching in and out of gear, so we just tried long trolling runs.
Just on low-tide (1030hrs) the Mrs landed a 66cm thready, then not long after the young fella lands a 59cm barra.

We had seen heaps of power-tails caught and massive bends in the rods, a few barra and some salmon, great too see fish being caught.

So still hopeful of catching another barra we keep on fishing and ~1300hrs I hook up, no jumps until right next to the boat, Faark it's a barra get the net all hell breaks out on the boat.

Any way got her in, she is 102cm, welcome to the club, a few happy snaps with the cr.p camera.

Swim her for 10minutes, she is keen to go, happy days.

NT Wombat

Re: Shady on 20-01-2016

Post by NT Wombat »

Well done - good to see the big ones swim away

Great stuff Niall. Its a bl..dy cracker

Top report mate , 8) great fish :mrgreen:

Wicked! - good on ya!

Post by wazdog »

Well done mate, good to see her swim away!!! Maybe the guy that caught the 120cm could take a leaf out of your book buddy!!!!

Great stuff well done. Persistance paid off.
slamminsam

Post by slamminsam »

Good one!

Good work mate
Richieboy

Post by Richieboy »

Wazdog, ease up buddy. Col and the boys from Reidys reckon old mate took 20mins trying to revive the big girl but it wasn't to be.
Never be too quick to pass judgement brus.

Richie
Mad KEEN!

Well done

Just wondering, when trying to revive a big girl, is keeping them in the net alongside and motoring into the current the better way to go? my best is still only 98 but it took ages to get her running again using the hand over the side method
callmejoe

Post by callmejoe »

Great catch
It costs nothing to smile.

Crackin' Fish Niall, well done!
craig.g

Post by craig.g »

Well done, great fish n great report, so thanks.

Nomad that would also work but one thing to remember as you probably already do is to leave the fish in net and water until you are ready to remove lure, have camera ready, etc, etc beforeringing her on board to minimise time out of water, stress, etc on that big girl!
im always nervous swimming big fish myself, thinking on investing in extra long lip grips, need to catch the big girls 1st though lol.