Salmon - O - Rama

Well after my terrible trip the day before, I managed to back it up with a great trip. I again apologize profusely to Tristan for missing the tide the day before :cry:

Left an hour earlier the second day and with the extra hour of tide (high tide an hour later) it should give us 2hrs more water. And it did. Plenty of water to launch. It's amazing how fast that place drains out.

Fishing was slow as expected in the start. Jeff asked me when do you expect the bite to start? I looked at the tide curve and said about an hour. And as Jeff said any minute now, my rod went off. First salmon went 96cm to the fork
1000686.jpg
1000687.jpg
I quickly followed it up with a 2nd
1000693.jpg
And a 3rd (much to Jeff's disgust)
1000691.jpg
It was then that I suggested that Jeff change his lure colour. So he did and it wasn't long before he was rewarded
1000699.jpg
At this point we realized that out of about 5 boats, we were the only ones catching any fish. It wasn't until later when the guide boats turned up (when I thought they were going to start to bite) that everyone started to catch fish. At this stage maybe 15 boats in total, so good day really.
Many more fish got landed
1000697.jpg
Also released a few at the boat
1000700.jpg
No barra but did see one about 80cm free jumping. Didn't see anyone else catch one either. Final tally was 4 kept (96, 89, 89, 86cm) out of a total of 12. Just as many more lost. Will be busy there on the weekend. Steady stream of boats heading out as we were coming home

Re: Salmon - O - Rama

Cracker trip Lats ,,thamks mate :applause:

Fish after fish after fish and then, more fish :D

Unlucky the day before but no mishaps this trip ,,just ran out of ale :drinking1: :drinking8:

I reckon this bloke's been eating well on Thready ,might even have a Red tag or two
028.JPG

Great threadies mate, well done.

U d threadman

Nice quality fish Lats. Well done! Yikes! ( Jeffish) - that croc is a monster!

Yep :drinking1:

great fish again guys, well done

nice handbag too

Finatic2

Post by Finatic2 »

Cracker of a trip well done
Fish stories told here....some true !!!

When in doubt...exaggerate !!

jeffish wrote:Cracker trip Lats ,,thamks mate :applause:

Unlucky the day before but no mishaps this trip ,,just ran out of ale :drinking1: :drinking8:

I reckon this bloke's been eating well on Thready ,might even have a Red tag or two
028.JPG
No worries mate. Next neaps I'll keep you in mind. Might change it up a bit. Got a few things rumbling around in the noggin :D

Lats wrote:
jeffish wrote:Cracker trip Lats ,,thamks mate :applause:

028.JPG
No worries mate. Next neaps I'll keep you in mind. Might change it up a bit. Got a few things rumbling around in the noggin :D
Change it up a bit :shock: :shock: ,,, I better start working out :drinking8: ,,

I'm in mate maybe a few eazzzy pulling barra would be the go :D