Venom barra rod.

balou
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Venom barra rod.

Post by balou »

Its time for some retail therapy so I'm think of getting a new barra rod. I have been using at st croix rods for the last 3 years and before that loomis rods .i love my venom jig sticks so I leaning towards a venom bait caster . I think there 3 models available in the 4,6 and 8 kg.

Anyone using a venom bait caster ? Which size do you recommend ?

Budget is about 400-500 so if you want recommend any else I should look into.

Probably using type r zillion and do about 50/50 trawling and casting.

BarraMick
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Re: Venom barra rod.

Post by BarraMick »

i have the venom 8kg on a chronach ci4 and its the best heavy barra setup ive ever had.
yes they are costly but bl..dy good rods. light and strong with plenty of pull.
criags had a special going awhile ago on there floor stock. (thats when i got mine)
i mainly use mine with fizzers, in the billabongs / shady
and is perfect for this as well as trolling as the rods are reasonlably stiff.
George
Seadog
Seadog

Post by George »

Hi mate

I'm a big fan of the Venom range, I've got one in the baitcaster model. Love It! It is super light and the power it has is astounding. I've got a core on mine and is an incredibly light combo. I prefer to flick so it is perfect for flicking all day long. Can't go wrong in my mind.
My 2c

Cheers
Custom Plate Boats
Boat modifications
Trailer and repairs

http://www.fishingterritory.com
Mr RiverBabe
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

I have one and they are a great rod. Although some things could be better on them such as the guides. For that price i would expect slightly better. Mine have started to get some slight rust marks on the bases of them. The rod overall always felt crappy after pairing mine with my Type R Zillion. I ended up talking with john Sykes about this and in the end it was decided that the balance of the rod was way off.