Moving To Darwin Keen Fisho, Introduction

SamN

Moving To Darwin Keen Fisho, Introduction

Post by SamN »

Hi all,

Just recently i have gotten a job in Darwin as a surveyor, I'm moving up here from SA (Adelaide).

I'm 21, and have been fishing for nearly the as long as I can remember.

Some of my highlights have been, being sponsored by http://www.temedis.com (Temedis Fishing), appearing on an episode of IFish and been lucky enough to fish with him, fish in various bream events around the country and fish for a number of species around Australia also.
Favourite fish down here to chase are the black bream, mulloway (jewfish) and of course the large SA kingfish and snapper.

The only place i have yet to fish is the NT and that is where i'm moving.

Had a few general questions that people might be able to help with, obviously i dont want peoples spots (as they are yours and I understand how frustrating it is when people dont want to put in the hard yards to find fish for them-self) etc just general information on the fishing itself, so I know what to pack when I move.

1) Are smaller pelagics accessible landbased?
2) Is it safe to fish most places without the risk of crocs?
3) Ideal outfits for landbased fishing in Darwin?
4) General tips on style of lures or bait?
5) Any landbased groups or guides that fish frequently that have a spot for one more?

Look forward to meeting and getting to know some of you

SamN

Re: Moving To Darwin Keen Fisho, Introduction

Bring your bream gear mate, plenty of bream in the harbour. The bonus is you should catch a few barra as bycatch. :wink:

The harbour has unlimited landbased options but you will need to put in a lot of effort initially. You need to figure out what species you want to target (barra/salmon, pelagics, reefies etc) and then work out what tides work at different spots and what lures to use to mimic the bait.

Coming from SA originally too, the tides do take a bit of figuring out but are critical to your success. Crocs are everywhere (plague proportions these days) but the closer you are to Darwin generally the safer you are. Good luck.

Did I mention the tides are important?
SamN

Post by SamN »

Thanks heaps for the advice mate, was looking for advice like that!

Cheers SamN
jersy

Post by jersy »

Welcome aboard Sam :clap: . Your gear you have will be fine. Crocs are everywhere :croc: .Get yourself a copy of the "bible",the NT fish finder book from most all fishing outlets. Get yourself some bushmans or rid and put it on early,like before you get to a spot. Always take water with you (beer is optional but recommended) :drinking1: . Crocs are everywhere, at anytime. Enjoy! :drinking8:
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!

Crocs get everywhere. 4m+ are trapped in the harbour every year. You don't have to be paranoid, just always keep an eye out if you're near the waters edge. Look up Darwin barra by Foot on FB. Keith is a good bloke and Should be able to help you
SamN

Post by SamN »

Thanks for the tips guys appreciate it!
jonr

Post by jonr »

give me a PM when you arrive and you can join me for a few trips in the boat to get your bearings.

jon

plenty of lb fishing around.
crocs are everywhere. make sure one of the first things you do when you arrive is to go on the jumping croc tour - that will change your mind about them.
dont worry about them just keep them in mind and dont do stupid things like going into the water
SamN

Post by SamN »

Thanks so much for the heads up guys!
SamN

Post by SamN »

Also Jon tried composing message won't allow it does anyone know how to fix this?
jonr

Post by jonr »

You need 10 posts before you can pm

Welcome to Darwin - you will love it. Best way to learn is to go fishing with some local fishos to get your bearings land based.
SamN

Post by SamN »

No worries bud, up here full time as of today, will scrap to 10 messages and then I'll shoot you a pm.

Welcome Sam!
What jersy said!!

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

SamN