Ranger/BT-50 or Amarok

Fish Tank
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Ranger/BT-50 or Amarok

Post by Fish Tank »

it's time to let my 19 year old 4-runner go, loosen the purse strings and get a new ute. After carefull consideration and research its come down to the Ranger/BT-50 or Amarok. Anyone have one of these and care to review?

How's the Amarok's 2L twin turbo engine for boat ramps and off road? Does it have enough power down low when retriving boats at lower revs? I have taken both for a test drive and the Amarok is nicer to drive around town, but the proof will be when its pulling a 1.4 ton boat out of sh..ty ramps ... and they won't let me do that on a test drive. :D

craig308
Silver Member
Silver Member

Re: Ranger/BT-50 or Amarok

Post by craig308 »

there is a reason the ranger and bt50 are sell like hot cakes. class above the rest in all areas
Cheers Craig
Scottie5.3
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by Scottie5.3 »

Mate I've been a mechanic for 10 years now and wouldn't p..s on a Amarok if it was on fire. Just my opinion but the ranger/bt50s are a good car. I had a ranger as a work ute and give it a absolute flogging and she's still a1.
Can't beat a Toyota but a ranger/bt50 isn't a bad option really
Scott's mobile mechanics- 0421 965 093

Life is hard, but it's harder if your stupid - John Wayne
wally gator
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by wally gator »

bt 50 fantastic ute same as the ranger, both made by mazda anyway, tojos just aint what they use to be :(
jersy
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by jersy »

Yep. .BT/Ranger. Great utes
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!
Fish Tank
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by Fish Tank »

Scottie5.3 wrote:Mate I've been a mechanic for 10 years now and wouldn't p..s on a Amarok if it was on fire. Just my opinion but the ranger/bt50s are a good car. I had a ranger as a work ute and give it a absolute flogging and she's still a1.
Can't beat a Toyota but a ranger/bt50 isn't a bad option really

Whats the problem with the Amarok?
Fish Tank