A story with a happy ending......

sarrge

A story with a happy ending......

Post by sarrge »

A session targeting barra with Seano in a coastal creek sounded like a great idea so I volunteered as deckie - then I got the details.

Those of you that know me would know just how much i relish the early start - i'm such a morning person.......

So a 4am :shock: start from Millner resulted in us being at our destination by 6.30am - lovely sunrise, heaps of bait but no barra.

Trolling.........Trolling........Trolling........Lure Change.........Trolling....... Nothing!

"Bugger this" says Sean, "Let's head up further and flick the snags" So we head off upstream finding lots of fishy looking water with lots of snags...... Nothing!

So we decide to leave. Heading down to the mouth again, Sean stops the boat, "Let's just troll the rest of the way". OK

We set off........Sean trolling and me trying to select a lure "This one looks shiny" I thought to myself, tying on an Axe (the lure, not the wood chopping implement)

I throw the lure out and let out a heap of line..............trolling.........trolling........

BANG!!! I'm on!!! and I look back to see a beautiful silver barra clear the water. "Thant's a good size" yells Sean, stopping the boat and quickly bringing his line in (all the while, mine is stripping line). Then i look down at my reel to see that I can actually count the individual loops of line left on my reel - and it's less than ten! I quickly thumb the reel and Sean reverses the boat so I gain a bit of line. And then it's back into it - slow steady pressure, slowly gaining ground, Sean offering advice. Then she's at the boat and straight into the net for a new PB at 94cm for Sarrge

A quick measure and a couple of pictures and back into the water she goes to fight another day.

I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.
balawisway

Re: A story with a happy ending......

Post by balawisway »

not how u start but how finish... PB as well :)
billy the kid

Post by billy the kid »

nice fish mate. top work

Outstanding sarrge,,,,That's a ripper fish mate :applause: :applause: :applause:

where is the one seano got :uhh: :fishy:

crackin' chrome fish :mrgreen:

Onya sarrge, reckon you missed out on a cm at least on the mat

bl..dy sweet as. I hope you thanked Seano for getting you out of bed so early? And I dont see a picture of this lure you speak of :)

Should have left the brag mat shot out looks like a horse would have called it 110cm from the head shot!

A good 95, well done Sarrge. :clap:

sarrge

Post by sarrge »

Alas, the lure is attached to an old crab pot in the mud at the bottom of the creek!

I forgot to mention that seano did get a rat when we were casting at the snags.....
I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.

Nice work

Massive shoulders!
uniball

Post by uniball »

Nice fish mate, congrats on the new PB!

Well done Sarrge!

That is a very nice fish, and bigger than my personal PB...
Now it makes me want to work on that!
:wink: :lol:

Well done!
:applause:

It is true that Seano is a good guide...
:wink:

craig.g

Post by craig.g »

Great fish

Cheers Craig