Kalumburu Trip

Tell us a camping story. Let us guess? You left the cooking oil and bog roll at home ...
Gregsy

Kalumburu Trip

Post by Gregsy »

Heading over west early June to explore the Gibb River Track, Kalumburu, Mitchell Falls and over to Derby,
Planning to head north and spend a few days somewhere around Honeymoon bay or Mcgowen Is. Maybe also to Pt Warrender depending on time.

Seeing as its too windy at the moment to go fishing Ive started getting a few things ready eg cleaning up the landcruiser, rooftop tinny, outboard prep, thermocells refilled, camping gear.

The list is neverending!!

Drive past BCF to get one small 12v plug next minute $145 later on camping gear... :bs: :banghead:

If anyone has been that way and has any usefull info on the camping and fishing etc around Mcgowen Is or HMB it would be handy.

Cheers Dave

PS. here is a photo of all the stuff you need to refill thermos
IMG_2135.JPG

palaran

Re: Kalumburu Trip

Post by palaran »

Just spent a few days in Kalumburu; 4 weeks along the Gibb.
It's 103km from the Mitchell Plataeu turnoff, so its approx 40km to Theda station and then another 60km to Kal.
Those 40 to Theda are good and you can sit on about 60km/hr, then it turns to real slow the rest of the way, so second gear slow; road aint bad just rocky/washed out, so slow.
Took about 2.5 hours for the 100km
Take everything with you!
Both days we were in Kal the shop was not open for deisel but at $3.02 a litre wasn't interested in buying it!
$50 for the visitors pass.
There is good camping on the Carson River which is 20km south of Kal and not on the reserve.
McGowan is $20 per person per night for very basic facilities and the old clapped out Generator was running all night keeping you awake as were the mozzies. Didn't think it was worth 10 a night!!
You can get deisel only at McGowens for $2.55 litre so cheaper than Kal (and open)
HMB is $5 less per night but we didn't stay the night as it was raining and we legged it before the road closed due to rain (the road was closed the day after we left).
Both camps cater for boats and there was a range of boats at McGowens, some blokes from SA towed up two boats, one 4.2m tinnie and one ~5.5-6m centre console and had the CC permantently moored at the bouys at McGowen.
Both beach launch though.
Everyone was catching fish at McGowens and the bay holds good fish. Plenty of big Jews at the mouth of the King Edward and the CC was pulling heaps of macies out wide.
The bloke at HMB has a charter boat and from all reports kills the pig. Was told it was $120 per day but no one was around when we dropped in.
Port Warrender is good fishing, basic camping and very slow road in.
Plenty of Barra in the Fitzroy and thus far the temp hasn't dropped so the Barra should still be keen.
The Gibb was graded so easy driving but the tourists are now in covoy so dust all the way.
If you want some more info just PM me
Damo
LIFE EVOLVES ON THE EDGE
tangles

Post by tangles »

Used to be able to camp at a point about 40/50klms ne of kalumburu.I think it was called beauty pt.
Great fishing crabbing oysters etc,but not much shade.

I was there years back went around to the Drysdale from mcGowans great trip.

went straight across the bay from camp got heaps of barra casting the oyster rocks on the point.
Beach was a little soft but just let your tyres down.
Give Damo a call he will put you on the money ..........he's just been there.

cyril20

Post by cyril20 »

Gday Gregsy,

I've got a mate heading up to Kulumburu early June if you want his number. he lives in Kunnanurra. top bloke.

Hardy
Gregsy

Post by Gregsy »

Sounds like there isn't much in the way of trees or shelter, might try mcgowens and if its a bit noisy maybe look at one of the tracks that leads to the bay just north of it, saw it on sat images.

Might do Ed, not sure if there's phone signal up there (hope not, dont want any work calls) but if your talkin to him mention we'll be around the area in a gold landcruiser ute with a tinny and a gold land drover disco.