Portable fridges

Put your poll about non-fishing topics here.

Portable fridges

I'm in the market for a 60 litre fridge for my car. Tossing up between waeco engel and trailblaza. Want some opinions and experience stories.
cheers Brent

bring_it_on

Re: Portable fridges

Post by bring_it_on »

Stick with engel,have only heard and seen bad things with waeco

Yeah the engel look pretty good too.

cheers Brent

Trailblaza is the best out of those three, aussie made as well

They are a bit cheaper and look pretty tough but dunno the postage yet.

cheers Brent

I can get engel for about 1500 with mates discount card from bcf plus I have 300 in vouchers.

cheers Brent

How friggin much do apprentices get paid these days , over paid :bs:

I have both (engel and wayco), and IMO it depends on what you plan for it.

How will you be powering it, Dual battery system or just of the cranking battery.

Also where will you be running it. Back of Ute, on the boat, or always inside wagon.

IMO engel fridges are more hardy, and can cop being run on the back of the Ute. My Engel is almost 25 years old, Has been run everywhere, it spent about 5 years on the back of a work ute in the direst weather, the only thing that gave way was the power cables rusted out. It sat around
But if you plan to run it on a boat than you would be better getting a plastic one, (engel now do a plastic version)

If running of cranking battery then I would go a wayco, as they have a battery protector, and you can set them so they cut out before it kills your battery. You can turn this system off, but I always forget and it cuts out when it shouldn't.

Hope this may help a bit.

Engel-my parennts have got a 30year old one that ha NEVER had a problem (besides beng rusty )
stevep84

Post by stevep84 »

I may throw a spanner in the works here but what about an ARB one?
I have a 47L one and love it.

Mrs bought me the plastic case engel about 3 months ago and it great.
Only early days yet on this model but everyone seem to prefer engel over Waco.
dirtyruiz

Post by dirtyruiz »

Got an engel and it has copped a flogging and still going. Jap engine with German engineering. Got a mate who has had his waeco longer than me and loves it. Both good I reckon. Waeco has better lid, easier to open and close. Engel lids have stupid clip bag jams and doesn't seal if you are not careful. Waeco better for boat as they are poly. Horses for courses. Search other threads on here there have been countless over the years

ponyplay wrote:How friggin much do apprentices get paid these days , over paid :bs:
birthday present. :lol: plus just probably a better chippy Haha :lol::lol::o

cheers Brent
mnemonix

Post by mnemonix »

My Waeco 50dz has copped a flogging on the back of the ute for a few years now. still goes strong every time I fire it up.
TNS1

Post by TNS1 »

Engel, legend in reliability. Throughout the family have a few, old mans is 20+ years and going strong. The few Waeco's I've been around have had dramas, that's my experience anyway.