Roadside Fishing Townsville Style

Post by Aaron G »

G'day Forum

Its been a while since Ive hooked anything decent
and its been a while since Ive seen my woman :P

Just thought I'd share that :)

Im here on exercise in Townsville with work.
Got lucky enough to work the nights and got the days to explore Townsville from my deadly treadly,
Brought my baitcaster, box of lures and child like optimism.

Started my adventure right here on the RAAF base.
Casting to the swampy looking flood plain thingy at the back of the airfield resulted in Tarpon after Tarpon
With one little ratty, all a stones throw from the airfield.

Some places are out of bounds, which is fair enough but one is the 'barra pond'.
It is in a restricted area, and apparently has some 'decent; sized barra in it.
It was hard not to break that rule but I complied.

So I ventured out into Townsville's Land base spots, that included:

Casino Rock Wall (Which is HUGE!) apparently theres great fish to be had of this... all i caught was a flattie
Bohle River Bridge (Where I caught my jack) it was really fresh water as well
Ross River and Ross Creek (Various bridges and rockbars)
Culverts just outside of the RAAF Base (Louisiana Ck)

Didn't get to fish it but was told the rock pools down 'the strand' were a barra haunt.

My take on Townsville Land base:

The rock bar in the photo at Ross River looked the goods.
It looked like some where you would hook a decent fish.
I flogged it one out going with lures, really hard with another bloke, trying all sorts of strategies.
I was told by locals barra in the 70's were common with metery's been caught and nice sized jacks for lure fishermen
with cod and nice bream on baits.
I came back again and gave live baiting a crack.
Zilch! on lures and live bait, no taps bumps or runs :?
Gave that spot a real hard crack, no results.

Something I noticed and photo's below is Townsville has heaps of Tilapia.
Every bridge I seemed to ride over had schools of Tilapia within the Lilly pads.

Oh and everywhere seems to be shallow water!
Feels like you can just wade over any river or creek here.

... I could be talking smack but thats my take.

All in all a bit fun between shifts away from home

Aaron

Aaron G

Re: Roadside Fishing Townsville Style

Post by Aaron G »

I know there's great fishing to be had here.

Here is a local girl I know
With a great Townsville Barra.
:) happy dayz

I LOVE the look of that rock ledge. It has fish written all over it
Davey D

Post by Davey D »

Well done mate. wish i had more time to fish the bay when i was there but was a bit too busy. when are ya gettin back up here
The ones who fight for their beliefs are those who achieve their dreams.

Can we just take the warning stickers off everything and let natural selection take its place, I mean if its spinning fast dont put your fingers in it..... Its not hard

ARTE ET MARTE
Aaron G

Post by Aaron G »

Back in the N.T tonight Davey D

You been too the rock wall lately?

Should do a LB Billabong run out to Kakadu sometime
Davey D

Post by Davey D »

went there sunday morning for the high tide, windy as all hell, and very quiet, managed a small parrot/tusk fish, havent caught one of them there for a while, gonna go again this weekend though, most likely going to gunn point tomorrow for the public holiday, larrakeyah on weekend though.
The ones who fight for their beliefs are those who achieve their dreams.

Can we just take the warning stickers off everything and let natural selection take its place, I mean if its spinning fast dont put your fingers in it..... Its not hard

ARTE ET MARTE

Hey Aaron,

Being away in a place that you don't know, you still did better than I in Darwin...
Please don't come back!
:wink: :lol:

Just kidding.
Well done.