redclaw????

rosho

redclaw????

Post by rosho »

Hi all, just wondering if Anyone knows of any spots within a hours drive from darwin whefe you can get redclaw and freshwater prawns,have 4wd to reach tricky spots would love some good feedback

Re: redclaw????

HAAAAy MAAAAN!! you must be kidding secrets are secrets. :rofl: :rofl:

Go down the old 47 mile road till you hit the Adealaide heaps maaaaaan! :rofl: :rofl:
mullet93

Post by mullet93 »

used to throw pots up the top of rapid creek years ago too see what was there....ended up with shiteloads of em and a stonker cherabin. Dunno bout eating them though.

i know the locals liked em. sometimes found our pots dry and open and the shells around them, caught them in the act once to but didn't really mind seeing as i wasn't gonna eat them.

Scotts creek in dijubringabeer national park

Scotts creek in dijubringabeer(djukbinj) national park
jacktar

Post by jacktar »

the creek running from robinfalls just out of Adelaide River, was there in the dry got about 50 odd in two pots couple of cherrabin too.
Cumberland

Post by Cumberland »

howard river can be alright at times too and it isnt too much of a drive
deano

Post by deano »

and while on the subject, whats everyones favourite bait to catch these little blighters
BlueyNT

Post by BlueyNT »

I've heard, rock melon , sweet potato and normal potato .
Haven't tried any of them yet so cant really say if they work or not .
Soap is supposed to work as well but personally I don't think is a good idea to use soap for environmental reasons.
Kev.
I'm not young enough to know every thing .
BlueyNT

Post by BlueyNT »

shaggs wrote:Scotts creek in dijubringabeer(djukbinj) national park
Are cherabin /redclaw pots allowed in the NT parks ?

Kev.
Cumberland

Post by Cumberland »

deano wrote:and while on the subject, whats everyones favourite bait to catch these little blighters
i usually use servo prawns , not sure why but they just always seem to pull through for me any meat will work though from what i've heard
shadymad

Post by shadymad »

Use chicken pellets in a stocking soaked in tuna oil, and shaggs :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: .Cheers for that mate. :clap:
Closest places would be howard river just down from the iron bridge or around the berry springs culverts and
manton dam is full of them,dont need traps for all the spots,a throwin net will do the trick as well.Just find a flat shallow area
and toss in some pellets n leave it for half hour then come back n through the net over them.Have fun.

Heaps in the howard river. Just don't leave your pot unattended, I would just go with the pellets and the cast net at night.
BlueyNT

Post by BlueyNT »

BlueyNT wrote:
shaggs wrote:Scotts creek in dijubringabeer(djukbinj) national park
Are cherabin /redclaw pots allowed in the NT parks ?

Kev.
Edit :
Just called NT parks , pots ,traps and cast nets are a no no in NT parks.

Kev.
BABS

Post by BABS »

I used to go down to the small creek at the back of the shooting club. It was a good spot back in the day but not sure if you can access it now