cod while trout fishing

They aren't barramundi, but there's something great about the speckled fish ...

cod while trout fishing

hi

two trips ago i was casting a lure into a tiny inlet of a lake ,no more than a foot deep that i spotted a brown trout in.

got smacked by this cod......who no doubt was after the same trout as me !!

no sure what he weighed or any of that cause once i got the lure out i put him back

scared the sh...t out of me though !!!

Re: cod while trout fishing

Oh my cod!! A nice surprise there BM!

Post by Bullet »

Were you really expecting a trout to take that No# 2 stump jumper Mick??? :?

Or did you know there was cod in there?

:drinking1: :mrgreen:
Cheers Bullet

I LIVE WITH FEAR, SOMETIMES SHE LETS ME GO FISHING!

DON'T NEED BAIT!

hi,

yep i use them all the time for trout ( im pretty sure its a small stumpy,not a 2 )

probably catch at least half of my trout on stumpies ,the trout love them.

jersy

Post by jersy »

So do the cod,BM.They cant resist a stumpy.. top bycatch! Stoked with that i bet. Well done..
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!

Didn't have a dark line through the eye towards the nose did it mate? Bit hard to see from the photies. Looks a little like a trout cod, protected and rare ....unless you know where they have been stocked .... :wink:

prolly not....

http://www.nativefish.asn.au/coddiff.html

Nice fish though on light gear :catch:

hi punter,
`
definatly not a trout cod...ive caught a few before around toc and yarra.there about the only places near me ive caught them.

as far as i know ( which is not a great deal ) there isnt any trout cod in eldion ????

somebody else may no if there is any stocked in eldion ???

thanks for the link though...interesting reading

No worries....I know of a reservoir not too far away from Eildon that has heaps! Just a bit difficult to get too if you catch my drift. Beautiful fish!