Light Tackle Blog

deepblack

Light Tackle Blog

Post by deepblack »

Hi All,
Check out the newest post in my blog at

http://fishingterritory.com/blogs/tragic/

Hope it helps someone out there, any feedback welcome.
Cheers, :cheers:
John.

North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.

Re: Light Tackle Blog

Mate awsum :mrgreen:
Thanks for taking the time and putting that all together :clap: , very easy to understand and with bit luck put into practice .
Ver help full

Once again cheers :cheers:

Ps i may pester ya with few questions later

top read mate well done good pics marlin coming outta the water is a top pic good size too
Sheeby

Post by Sheeby »

G'day Deepblack,

being without a boat I'm in no position to chase billfish but all the same that was a great read.
One day down the track (a long way down) when I have a boat, that sought of blog will be priceless.

Cheers for throwin it up mate.

Sheeby.

8) Some handy hints there mate.
erudebill

Post by erudebill »

Hey Deepblack,

I think that is one if not the most imformative reads I have seen posted. :mrgreen:

The best thing is it is simple to understand but you have highlighted every every aspect of the hunt. :clap:

Well done mate and look forward to reading more post. :drinking8:
Fishing is a passion only fishermen understand.

erudebill

andrew.south

Post by andrew.south »

deepblack wrote:Hi All,
Check out the newest post in my blog at

Hope it helps someone out there, any feedback welcome.
John.
Mate that is the best read ever.... :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: thanks for sharing... :drinking1: :drinking1: :drinking1:
Southy

Very rarely when the ship misses the harbour is it the harbours fault
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Hi All,
Thanks for the feedback. The idea behind writing the blog was to put the knowledge that was relevant to the fishery up here that I have learnt all in one place. When I started I had to figure it out as I went and it would have been great to have a consolidated resource. This information is a combination of sources on the net, talking to other fisherman from all over the country and my own experiences and observations of the fishery. Make no mistake I'm no expert and I am learning new stuff all the time but what I am writing about works for the fishery and I wanted to pass on what other people have been good enough to teach me.
double haul wrote:8) Some handy hints there mate.
Mate, some of it will be stuff I have learnt from you! :mrgreen: The plan is to write it in installments the first having been tackle and teasers. Next is Baits and Rigging followed by perhaps setting the spread and trolling tactics and lastly the bite and fighting tactics.

Bear with me as it will take a while to bring all the information together and get it on the blog. My boat is going to be in for extensive
modifications at the same time and I will be posting updates of that as it is being set up for Billfishing.
John.
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Hi All,
Here's part two of Light Tackle Billfish - Bait and Bits. Once again I hope it helps people out there.
John.

John once again thank you very much, awsum mate :mrgreen: . Cant belive iv been wasteing my time reading and hunting for billi mags. With out blowing to much wind up your ass :D , your two articles have tought me 10 times as much as any mag iv brought :clap: :clap:

A quik question wat is in your opion is the earliest most realistic time to start chase billies in broome next year ???

awsome info and extremly clearly described :D Now I might be abled to bust my Billfish verginaty. :bonk: :cheers:
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

PP,
Mate I have only fished Broome once but from the research I did for that trip I would probably say mid June to late October is when the real numbers show up but seeing as you're in Broome head out to the fishing club at the port on fri arvo and have a beer and chat with the boys they will sort you out. It may be worth your while to get your gear together and have a "shake down" trip to sort out your setup anyway. There are tips on the way to smooth out the learning curve too. :mrgreen: You will love Broome when it fires the bait balls getting hit by Boobie birds have to be seen to be believed. :shock:
John.
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Hi All,
Here's part three of Light Tackle Billfish - Setting the Spread. Once again I hope it helps people out there.

http://fishingterritory.com/blogs/tragi ... he-spread/

John.