Advice sought on outboard and boat works

Here's the place to get the latest information about the Fish Finder Blogs, as well as to request blog specific help.
barraeel
Bronze Member
Bronze Member

Advice sought on outboard and boat works

Post by barraeel »

Happy New Year all,

I'm new to FFF and am moving to Darwin next week from Nhulunbuy. I have a Quinnie Reef Runner that I want to modify a little and a Mariner 90hp 2 stroke that could do with a bit of work. I'm trying to actually modify the Mariner into a new Yammie 4 stroke, but the anchor.......!

Can anyone please suggest the better places or people to see about getting some work done? Looking forward to getting some better pricing after being ripped off so badly in Gove.

I'd appreciate any advice. Thanks.

BarraBeast
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Re: Advice sought on outboard and boat works

Post by BarraBeast »

there's plenty of ali fabricators in town such as Allcraft, Pruen Road Berrimah, bit pricey but top quality. I havnt used the rest so the FFF crew will not doubt post some info. there's a few add's in the FFF map book too.

are you sure you want to spend money on it? sentimenatl value ? there's a few people i know have built pods and full transoms to old hulls with mixed results. some of them were dud's in my opinion compared to just flogging the boat and buying a decent modern designed hull that's built for fourstrokes.

Most have gone fourstroke but weight has been a factor in the past(depentant on brand). check all the weights from yamaha, suzuki and honda and compare as an interesting exercise.

if you buy a suzuki, quality marine seam to be the front runners for this brand. Yamaha is In&Outboard marine at Sadgroves.
"in chemistry, Alcohol is a solution! "
GoodLookinPete
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by GoodLookinPete »