Show us your biggest SAMBOor DHU

buzzdog

Re: Show us your biggest SAMBOor DHU

Post by buzzdog »

coastaljoy wrote:The good fish are still down here in Busso buzz, The mulloway are just turning up and the dhu have moved in close with the pinkys
Hey mate,
I haven't fished Busso in years, to be honest I really do miss it. My bro lives in Perth and heads down there from time to time. The fish size, bag limits and closed seasons (Dhufish) were only brought to my attention recently, massive difference from when I used to fish. Although it may seem harsh, I don't believe there's ever a bad thing about increasing size limits, decreasing bag limits and or introducing closed seasons as they are put in place to assist the fish stocks. Much the same way as when they close the mouth of the Daly and Shady camp in the NT each year to allow the Barramundi to spawn.
Even the marine parks are a great idea, it allows fish to spawn, live and feed in safety...well that's until they leave the sanctuary of the marine park :D However, it does make me wonder what they are thinking when they do implament marine parks, primarily based on the input from a minority of the water uses with where to establish the closed areas, kinda silly really. If a marine park is to be established it should be put in place to best assist the fish and fellow water inhabitants, rather than favouring a particular water activity.
I also reckon they should establish a Dam outside of Perth and stock it full of Barramundi, that way my bro can get his Barra fix on a monthly basis rather than a yearly one.

buzzdog

This will knock your socks off! Landbased Dhuie!!!

Post by buzzdog »

This will knock your socks off!

A pic of my bro's Dhuie, not his biggest to date, but his biggest from the beach!!! How about that! 11.5kg and 88cm

Awesome!
coastaljoy

Post by coastaljoy »

Was that off the beach up near dongra or down south, they are getting the odd pinky off ingidup beach recently.
I know you and your family a bit from the fishing club when you were a young lad, you still hold a junior record I think.
he fishes he fishes he fishes its the only thing in life all he ever gets is hell from his fed up wife
buzzdog

Post by buzzdog »

coastaljoy wrote:Was that off the beach up near dongra or down south, they are getting the odd pinky off ingidup beach recently.
I know you and your family a bit from the fishing club when you were a young lad, you still hold a junior record I think.
That was up at Horrocks Beach.
Really, that's pretty cool, apart from coastaljoy, what other names do you go by....uncanny.
coastaljoy

Post by coastaljoy »

Gday Buzz I go by the name of Scott and I own the big glass company in Busso you should remember the name of it.The fishing is still good down here if you know where to fish.I have just been up to darwin for 10 days barra fishing at shady which I do every year.Are you still into weights, I seem to remember a few years back you were.
he fishes he fishes he fishes its the only thing in life all he ever gets is hell from his fed up wife
Marky

Post by Marky »

Biggest I got so far a few years back now.. 17kg... Still looking for the magic 20kg whenever I get back to Perth to chase them
buzzdog

Post by buzzdog »

I found the pic!
I broke my arm when I was 19, couldn't do a great deal other than fishing. So I went out to wet a line on the busselton jetty, kinda surprised myself when I landed two 55lb samson fish, especially since my left arm was in a cast. Lifting the fish up on to jetty proved to be a challenge but not impossible.
Good times.