Yellabelly i caught today...

i Spent the arvo fishing a nice little spot that produced a few fish for my mate, his family & myself today,,, we all bagged a few fish,, using Soft Platics..
was a good way to spend a Sunday Arvo Actually...

Re: Yellabelly i caught today...

Great looking spot and nice yellas!

Is that North NSW,Inverell way?

;-)

Binnaway -- Coonabarrabran....
Trier

Post by Trier »

Hi BC, never caught one or seen one, except in pics, but they look like fat buggers - almost look
like a fat yellow barra! How do they rate on the fang compared to some of the fish we see? (obviously can't be too bad otherwise you would bother putting them on the table).

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John
MattyA

Post by MattyA »

Nice work - never tried the placcys for yella belly, mostly was using jackals. They obviously work!

Matt

top effort..great fish to eat !!!

Look like callop..Same same BC???. used to get heaps at cobdogla on tiger worms.

Yep Graham they are called Callop in Crow country :D
Also called Golden Perch
Give a nice fight early on depending on size.

Used to target em in Albury.Lake Hume

Thought so Sy, used to work out of Barmera carting fruit and veg to Adelaide markets/Berri juice factory, fished th mighty Murray in me days off.

crackin' post, looks like a great spot, nice foters too, the callop scrub up real well :mrgreen:

Trier wrote:Hi BC, never caught one or seen one, except in pics, but they look like fat buggers - almost look
like a fat yellow barra! How do they rate on the fang compared to some of the fish we see? (obviously can't be too bad otherwise you would bother putting them on the table).
yes they were pretty good eating.. not the same as goldie or nice saltwater barra,, but i think way better than swamp barra... the creek was running so they were not landlocked
semper

Post by semper »

Callop on the murray are great eating, never tried plastics though, usually find them deep on snags or in holes, they usually go for shrimps over worms i reckon.

semper wrote:Callop on the murray are great eating, never tried plastics though, usually find them deep on snags or in holes, they usually go for shrimps over worms i reckon.

They love little yabbies also !!! sometimes they have alot of fat along the backbone...esp when they come from lakes with plenty of food in them.. agree grest to eat