Gun troubles

Chasing pigs, buffalo, duck and geese. And deer, foxes, feral cats, rabbits ...
mippa

Gun troubles

Post by mippa »

Hi all,

Does anyone on here know how to fix shotguns? Went out tonight. Let off 1 shot (got a goose too thank god) then the gun carked it. Pull the trigger and nothing. Pulled the gun apart and played around. Pull the trigger and it worked. Put the gun back together, pull the trigger and nothing!! Wtf!
Then all of a sudden pull the trigger once and both rounds go off! Wasn't expecting that! Almost
Blew out of my hands. What was weird though if I pulled the trigger nothing would happen but when I opened it the ejectors would release as if it just fired both rounds? I have no idea what's wrong with it.

It's an escort under/over and only into it's 3rd season (realistically prob only had 10 boxes put through it, never drop it and always clean after a shoot).

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks heaps.

Mippa

Bellfish

Re: Gun troubles

Post by Bellfish »

hey mate I have a gunsmith who does all my work on my guns but im pretty shore hes overseas on holidays atm his name is Tim Robinson
he s a Trade Gunsmith 0429 853 321 he should sought you out pretty quik
mippa

Post by mippa »

Thanks heaps mate. Had nothing but trouble with this gun since new. Can't wait to get a new one next year. I'll give him a call and see if he can help me out

Had wondered how those Escorts would go when they first appeared, being a cheaper gun, give the Boitos etc some competition.

My first shotty was a single barrel Baikal, that fired about 9 out of 10 trigger pulls.

Then I had Remington semi-auto that split the timber at the front end, and then a Winchester pump that didn't cycle real well, which surprised me.

So the geese were fairly safe. Lot to be said for spending extra on a good gun.

Although the old Stirling .22 never fails :)

Hope you get it sorted out, might be something simple.
mippa

Post by mippa »

cheers matt. i thought id get a cheap shotty to start with. it works fine when it works but out of the 3 years ive owned it and amount of times its used its not very reliable. screw fell out of the safety after about 3 months from new. then it was shooting the opposite to what was set (shoot over when under was selected visa versa) now this misfire issue. it's getting dropped off to Tex for me today so see what comes of it.

Had no problems with my one yet
Sounds like something has gone haywire with the barrel selection
mippa

Post by mippa »

thats the thing shags. i remember you telling me you havent had an issue with yours yet. its getting looked at by Tex this week so hopefully find out whats the go. will pay someone in beers at the end of the season to teach me how to strip it down properly and clean/maintain it.

Tex did mention that the winchester bullets (only ones i've used) could be part of the problem as they are made in america and the detonator is slightly off centre (the last box i put through was apparently a new Winchester duck shot made in Geelong) dunno. one more time then its getting bent into a flash anchor haha
Cozzy0011

Post by Cozzy0011 »

Are your shells being struck by the firing pins? I bought a brand new shorty from what i thought was the best shop in town, went all the way up to goose creek to find it would only fire after the shell was struck 5 or so times, sent back to the factory and still waitin to get it back, dodgy firing pin. Not very happy
mippa

Post by mippa »

the firing pin isnt even activating to make it fire!