Fog bay grand slam.

Coutta

Post by Coutta »

Mmm - might have to get myself a backup mirror teaser - was thinking of running two but might have to keep one in the boat.

Do you mind if I confirm which hybrid? I assume you are talking the . I'm also inetersted in checking colours Ive previously sought some info from peter pakula himself and he suggests stucking with the

If we all focussed on the important things in life there would always be a long queue at the ramp!
Coutta

Post by Coutta »

Mmm - might have to get myself a backup mirror teaser and make up a longer wire as its only about a foot long at the mo.

Do you mind if I ask some more questions re the dojos?

I understand the destroyers are for running short and the skooners long. What have u been running and in what posi?

I was thinking of trying out a couple of the 205 mm destroyers in close in evil angel and violeta - whadda u reckon?
If we all focussed on the important things in life there would always be a long queue at the ramp!

If evil angle is green than thats the colour that worked, ive only got the destroyers n they seem to run in any possy but they have been put in the shootgun. Im fishing out of a 5mtr boat without outriggers n pitching baits so everything is in very close. Might have to put a few pics up of the spreads so its a bit easer to work out, would also be good to see how other people put out there teasers.
Coutta

Post by Coutta »

Double mate I'm all theory and very little practical :mrgreen:

Check out the Pakula website - theres shite loads of info re lure type / size / spreads / colour / positions etc - very worthwhile - I even emailed Peter himself a while back and he was keen to help.

If its the bright fluro green with the red stripe down the sides then its the 'lumo' - apparantly 'the' colour to run out back in the shotgun - I have a small lumo skirt for the same job. The evil angel and violetta are darker purple / blue etc - colours that apparantly work better in close. The darker colours / larger lures in close and brighter / smaller lures out back is the theory.....at first it seems Pakula gets very technical but its fairly straight forward really.

By the way I'm the same no outriggers although for the shotgun the rod goes in a holder on the bait board so gets some height that way.

Re the teaser - ive run the mirror right in close off the opposite corner to the short corner lure which runs just behind the teaser (but on the other side of the prop wash) - had a decent longtail and a good spaniard come right up and take that lure at north gutter last time I gave it a go...but after the mac the lure was cactus.. :banghead:

We should hook up and discuss tactics ?

Now worries mate ill be at the city this weekend. :mrgreen:
Coutta

Post by Coutta »

hey double howd u go at the city last weekend?

channel point is open this friday so will be down there on the 10th for a few days - will call u on ch72 whats your call sign? (ours is phantom but coutta will do :mrgreen: )

Boss put a stop to it had to work. :banghead:

More than likely ill be heading that way, any trips i do will post to see if anyone else is keen anyway so just check. Last trip out pitty we didnt have another boat as the weather was pretty good n would love to head out a lot further than normal. :mrgreen:
Coutta

Post by Coutta »

as the saying goes born to fish forced to work!

Will keep a look out for ya - wont be able to check after today will be offline going bush with the kids for a week then back for a 1 day turnaround to drop em off, swap the camper trailer for the boat and pack for CP - we'll be out there 11, 12 & 13th - plan is to head to the city from batemans / wide of north peron in the early arv once we've set the crab pots, had a flick for a baz or 3 and had our change of tide sesh on the reefies :grin: