billfishing this weekend whos keen??

Mr RiverBabe

Re: billfishing this weekend whos keen??

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

Hey mate any more info on Tuna? Big schools and any size to them.

Hi MRB, there were schools of Mac Tuna everywhere from Sail City right through to Long Lost. The schools were reasonable size, up to about 30 metres across the schools. There were a couple of schools of Longies in between the macs and they were pretty good size. The only one that we got took the skipping mullet and would have gone around the 8Kg mark. There were also quite a few single longies.

Didn't see much on the sounder in the way of bait schools but a couple of times when we got right in the tuna we could see that they were smashing baits about an inch long. Thats where the fly rod came in handy and my young fella got stuck into some nice mac.

There was nothing to be seen on the northern side of Long Lost on the way back to Dundee, no tuna, no bait and no birds.

Absolutely no mackeral! We normally have them smash the teasers but didn't see one this trip.

CCO625

Post by CCO625 »

Swoffa and Mr. RB. On Saturday did the long troll from Fentons out through Nth. Gutter and then back in through Sth. gutter. Only smallish schools of tuna seen all day. Picked up a Mack tuna at Fenton Wide and then Longtail in the Nth. Gutter. Think we had a sail checking out the spread with repeated hits on two of the lures before the Skipping Gar was taken off the outrigger only to be dropped. After checking the lures and the bait there was no sign of teeth marks not 100% sure what it was but definately not Mackeral. Almost a glass out during the late morning and into the arvo. Saw a few flying fish here and there and a few pods of dolphins came and checked us out.

Sounded a big school of bait holding near the bottom in South gutter so pulled all the troll gear in and sent down some jigs resulting in 4 big Spaniards and 1 spotted. Left them and the sharks biting and headed home travelling nearly 170kms for the day.

Was the water blue out Dundee way? out where we were it was crystal clear but was slightly green compared to later in the dry.
Mr RiverBabe

Post by Mr RiverBabe »

Cheers for the info guys. Will let you know how we go out Dundee Tuesday Wednesday.

Few fish raised out sails city way today apparently!!!!
upnorth73

Post by upnorth73 »

Went down to bowra wide yesterday and sail city today. Must have got about 16 tuna at bowra on Saturday, but no sails, although we did see a very small one hanging around the tuna schools. Had a much better day at sail today, raised at least half dozen along the 20 meter contour line. The fish were all small and they weren't real aggressive, we managed to pin one (mates first), and that made the weekend worth while. Lots of scattered bait, and much fewer tuna schools than bowra. Good to see Doug out and a few other FFFers out there...

Heading out tomorrow.....Long Lost and Sail City.

I just hope the weather holds.

we saw a sail free jumping at long lost yesterday

Where is long lost I call the top of the witches nose long lost like 10km north on that big finger in the contour line ?? Is it west off the witches nose ?

hey Doug Ill post the mark when I get a chance. Bout 5k's of the witches nose I think

Hi Ghound,
the free jumper wasn't right behind my boat was it??? We had 1-1-0 for the day out at Long Lost. Hooked up to a nice sail around 8.30ish with the young feller on strike. Sail took one run of around 100m before he could get some line back. Second run did us in with the line snapping at the reel (yep, I didn't release the drag as the spool diameter got smaller). The billie continued jumping at the back of the boat for the next 30 seconds or so trying to free the hook.

Ended up with a couple of mackeral to 70cm for the day so all was not lost. Just a shame about the duckhead out there who was broadcasting his music over the VHF while we were trying to speak.....

Doug, here are the two coordinates that I use as the eastern and western extremities of Long Lost. It is pretty much an extension of the rock ledge out from Point Blaze. There are heaps of good rubble spots between and around these two marks for bottom bouncing.

S12°45.941' E130°06.836'
S12°45.625' E130°05.216'

Still not sure where you call Witches Nose.

Warren

This where I got that sail on the witches nose you you look in ya chart it will be in the witches nostril so to speak ;)
This where both our sails in billie comp come from
Is this what you call the southern cross swoffa ??

nah we could see a couple of boats way off in the distance. I forgot we used 2 rods sounder hopefully he can put up the mark.

Gday Swoffa,DOUG, ghound
I,m just getting into the billie fishin and have read alot of your posts just wanted thank you all for sharing the info and hope I can do the same one day ,,, :bow: :bow: :bow:
Might be heading down dundee way this weekend ,,Just not sure on what tides are good for the billies and sails,,,any thoughts ,,thanks

Mark(300hp) on the forum was telling me he has alot of success on the big tides down there as there isn't alot of run in the bay I'm yet to try it I generally try and fish the building but more times than not its when ever I can get out
Weather is looking good this weekend coming again with the low pressure system down in the bite
Will have to drum up a crew and spend a day on the billies I think