Bill fish hunting...who is keen?

Coutta

Post by Coutta »

hey 2 rods - have the day off this friday (26/9) and thinking of having a look at sth gutter for a sail and a drift for a goldie or 3 - interested?

If we all focussed on the important things in life there would always be a long queue at the ramp!

Coutta I will be heading out Sat. morn if the weather is favourable
Coutta

Post by Coutta »

max - very interested but unfortunatley no can do on saturday - the boss has me committed already - thats why I had to take a day off on friday to go fishin coz I didnt want to miss this set of tides - hopefully the wind stays down looks like a low is coming thru the bite later in the week so fingers crossed - tide chart tells me 11th / 12th of october is worth another go.

Ill try and put up a post friday nite to let u know how I go....
If we all focussed on the important things in life there would always be a long queue at the ramp!

Any one heading out this weekend (30/11)
Heading out to north gutter this sunday maybe saturday if can get a deckie. If weather turns to )&^* will go to fenton.

will be @ north gutter saturday morning and at lorna wide sunday then home via south gutter....

Will be in a green game boat. (40 foot black watch)... call sign "realistic" if ya see us give usa call on ch72..

good luck :catch:

2rods wrote:will be @ north gutter saturday morning and at lorna wide sunday then home via south gutter....

Will be in a green game boat. (40 foot black watch)... call sign "realistic" if ya see us give usa call on ch72..

good luck :catch:
:shock: :lol: :lol:

Well I will be back out again tomorrow (saturday)... but in my boat :surf:

Will leave @ 5.30am and head to south gutter... Max will also be out there in his boat..... both on ch72 VHF..

Give us a yell if your around :mrgreen:

Hit South Gutter today, Max and 2rods were out there and quite a few other boats.

Tuna schools were working - there were also loads of bait balls at the seaward end of the gutter but only from midwater down - lots of big blips were hanging in the bait too.

Had one probable billfish strike - it came up and ripped off a gar and then briefly followed the furthest pusher - Justin Jones said it had a wake like a torpedo but we did not see the fish.

A little later we had a big mack grab the teaser and leap out of the water.

When we packed up for the day a pusher sank to the bottom and we got a spaniard on it straight away, so if macks are your thing go out there and troll deep lures.

Inspection of the mono traces at the end of the day revealed that one had been roughed up. One gar also had a deep crease behind the head.

I tried a skipping coral trout for something different - it swam OK but didn't get hit and at the end of the day it was orange on one side and pink on the other. And saggy like an old milkfish.

Home at 1pm.

We didn't get any sail fish either Matt... I did have 1 gar with a big flat spot that "might" have been from a bill??

Slayer got a nice mac tuna ... and I snuck in some squid so we got a few reef fish for the esky :roll:

The weather was a cracker...flat as ... I will post some pictures later...

New motor trim angle wedge seems to have done what I wanted it to do... and the sounder is still spinning me out with how clear it is... got home at 2pm after 120kms on the water.... :mrgreen:

yep we lucked out too got one mack tuna on a skipping gar and Phil jigged a doggie mack as we packed up done 124 ks and never looked like catching a Billfish but it was a glorious day out there with a lot of tuna on top early,seen one big sea snake as well.

Anyone heading out sunday. 5/4 Same story as normal ch 72. Look for a blue gs and 2 guys who look like they are sleeping. :sleep:

:hunting: billies again this weekend. 2 to the 4/5 The barra blinkers are off again. Looking at the wind and tides it looks like a late start around lunch returning to nightcliff late arvo. Same sh*t differnt day blue gs two blokes :sleep: ch72. Looks like se in to moring dying of in the arvo was thinking fenton or a few lumps east to make life easer in the wind.

will be fairly dirty out there this weekend I reckon especially after them big tides ,more better leading up to big tides not after but I guess you cant catch em sitting on the couch :smile:

Just had a look at the wind for the weekend looks like the trips off. :evil:
10 to 15 se to sse all weekend. Maybe next set of neaps.

Time to dust of the sh*t again boys this weekend sat and sun leaving after lunch returning late. The winds are starting to set in to dry conditions. Blowing in the moring and glassing off in the evening. Complete change of locations and heading to the shoals of the vernons.
Same sh*t as allways blue gs 2 blokes sleeping ch72.