Another Ripper Sail

deepblack

Another Ripper Sail

Post by deepblack »

Hi All,
Here's another ripper Sailfish, we scored this bad boy yesterday wide of Cape Bowling Green. Went 240cm short length and approximately 70kg.
The bite was epic like a scene from Jaws, I saw the fish appear 5m behind the skip bait and as he approached he had his sail up until his entire back was out of the water with the sail still up as he piled on the bait, dropped it straight down his throat as he opened his mouth and came up tight as soon as he turned and handed the rod to the Deckie. He's pretty chuffed with his first Billfish. 8)

Cheers, :cheers:
John.
20130914_121601 (Medium).jpg

North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.
balawisway

Re: Another Ripper Sail

Post by balawisway »

Well done :)

nice fish all right !! 70kg is a big fish !!
Few about over there. ?
Kp NT

Post by Kp NT »

Nice sail well done :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
I couldn’t repair your brakes, so I made your horn louder.” - Steven Wright

"If you want to maintain a sustainable supply of fish you have to farm the fish, rather than mine them. So putting your money into fishing fleets that are going to exacerbate the problem by over-fishing is not the way to preserve the underlying asset."
Maurice Strong

Nice work
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Kp NT wrote:Nice sail well done :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Depends which graph you look at doesn't it?

Mine has a 55kg fish at 225cm short length...... Let's call it for 62.5 then.

http://www.pvgfc.com/BILLFISH%20FORMULA1.pdf
Anglers Choice

Post by Anglers Choice »

Beautiful fish
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Thanks mate,
I'm seriously questioning my decision to pass the rod over now. :banghead: That's ok though, as you know I got to do the best bit. :wink:
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Sorry KP, knee jerk reaction. I seriously believe the fish went 65-70kg. It was very thick through the torso.

Got any better pics of it ??
Kp NT

Post by Kp NT »

Haha no stress deepblack, no matter what the graph says its still an awesome fish one of the biggest I've ever seen!

Maybe you should ignore the green colour on the graph and go of the blue one hahahaha. :rofl:

Yeah the best bit is the hook up the rest is just hard work lol
I couldn’t repair your brakes, so I made your horn louder.” - Steven Wright

"If you want to maintain a sustainable supply of fish you have to farm the fish, rather than mine them. So putting your money into fishing fleets that are going to exacerbate the problem by over-fishing is not the way to preserve the underlying asset."
Maurice Strong
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

Cheers KP, there have been a few Crackers around this year, some of the Blacks have been pretty good too.

Doug, no mate. Trying to get it back in ASAP. Gutted I didn't have my GoPro mounted on the T-Top for the strike either.

Outstanding sail there John :applause: :bow:

I spent 30mins on sat hooked up but no joy , cut off by mackies .

Best sail pic I,ve seen on here ,,,Cheers

Ripper fish John

Well done on that, bet the old hairs were standing up on the back of the neck and the fingers were getting tingly when he came up behind the bait, that's the best part I reckon, watching them actually eat it, instead of turning round and disappearing!

Great stuff

Finatic2

Post by Finatic2 »

bl..dy Ripper, great work
Fish stories told here....some true !!!

When in doubt...exaggerate !!