Zerek - Live Shrimp

Trier

Re: Zerek - Live Shrimp

Post by Trier »

Hi Seano, as they say in the advert, everything eats a prawn! Has Sheeby been doing something a little 'unnatural' with them???? :o

Ash
-----------------

If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer and hit it harder!

'You can't have mudcrabs without mud'. My son John
wildstylen

Zerek - Live Shrimp

Post by wildstylen »

There is another prawn on the market identical to the zerek. The Eco oda live shrimp. Apparently made in the same factory and seem to be a few bucks cheaper.
SeekingBarradise

Post by SeekingBarradise »

The tale of two prawns lol.

Boys reckon it was talked about a bit at the tackle show (one being copied so quickly).

Tip: I've lost $10 already. It looks like they melt a bit like Zmans with other plastics.

Either that or they don't like fishing in the middle of the day when it's 40 degrees lol.

Cheers Lyndon.
SeekingBarradise

Post by SeekingBarradise »

Anyone had the prawns start melting even though they haven't been placed in with other soft plastics?

Cheers Lyndon

Yep

Tip of the Day :idea: :idea:

Store your plastics in esky as lost a few to heat over years
barratrooper1

Post by barratrooper1 »

KO Tackle has a baitfish profile, made in the same factory as the Zerek shrimp, nice action, will give em a go, if we get any run off....(cheap to)
Love the action of the shrimp, has so much potential in heavy cover, weed, grass cant wait to use them. (when Im not using my hardbodies that is :D )

Those bigger zerek's would have to be the go casting to snags in cheribin country you would reckon.

best tip for using the Zerek i can give is

"USE IT AS SLOW AS POSSIBLE"

cast it out then wait 30-40 seconds. (they sink real slow, and you will want them near the bottom) 1 or 2 twithces of the rod. then let it settle again for a good 10 seconds. (should only lift half a meter to 1 meter in the water column then let settle on the bottom again)
should take at least 2-3 minutes to retrive per cast.

if your not working them like this you wont have as much sucess. yes they still work when used quicker then this, but you wont catch as many.
also if your only catch barra on them they usualy last a good 10 or so fish.
Deigs

Post by Deigs »

must keep them seperate just put them back in the packet they came out of and need to keep them straight if any parts are bent they will stay that way both the zerek and ecooda
maaaario10

Post by maaaario10 »

Really impressed by the Zerek. Have only used one prawn so far and it's caught 5 barra and a rock cod, hasn't been damaged by the fish or the heat.
mako

Post by mako »

Anyone able to rate them against DOA prawn??

Bought one but didn't get a chance to use it before it melted (put it in with some squidgies). Starting to think that one needs to have a industrial chemistry degree before buying lures.

Price is ok as the kevlar backbone seems to make it last.

I'll try again.
garrynt

Post by garrynt »

Thought I'd try out the xmas present zerek cherabin over the weekend only to find out that they had melted in with several other of my other rubber lures. My fingers were all a runny goo of rubber as I tried to seperate my others lures. Each in a different compartment, each a total waste of money for something that really looked the goods.
Never got to use them.

Try the Ecooda prawns, might have the same problem re melting but they are cheaper and work just the same