Look what I found!!!

Re: Look what I found!!!

I love those people.

Used to be a big burly bloke riding around on a pushie with a little dress on. He rode it all the way to Alice.

Tourists used to ring him in to the police saying he was a pervert, but he was all good.

Old head gear boy, I wonder sometimes if he has a shed full of half completed gadgets and experiments and the riding capers are some part of a grand experiment to create energyless transportation or something. Maybe like all the experiments in his (and my) shed he is just waiting for that one magic ingredient to make a squillion dollars...

Weird is the new normal

I hate being bi-polar. Its awsome

cjgp wrote:I love those people.

Used to be a big burly bloke riding around on a pushie with a little dress on. He rode it all the way to Alice.

Tourists used to ring him in to the police saying he was a pervert, but he was all good.

Old head gear boy, I wonder sometimes if he has a shed full of half completed gadgets and experiments and the riding capers are some part of a grand experiment to create energyless transportation or something. Maybe like all the experiments in his (and my) shed he is just waiting for that one magic ingredient to make a squillion dollars...

Weird is the new normal

I hate being bi-polar. Its awsome
I agree mate, I think it's what makes darwin so good. Anywhere else in Australia they'd be just another nutter. But in darwin everyone seems to keep an eye out for them.

Ive done the food van in town a few times and I can say most of people are very polite. :mrgreen:

There is a bloke getting around on the road between Katherine and Pine Creek at the moment wearing only a pair of red speedo's
Has a tan that any pommie tourist would be proud of. Waves at all the cars as they drive past while skipping along.
garrynt

Post by garrynt »

gjgp
That was Christine? if my memeory serves me correct from about 10 years ago...
Seemed harmless, was in Katherine for a few weeks on his way south. Probably ended up as one of Ivan Milats pickups.

THere used to be a well dressed bloke with a tie, bit of a solidish build that would pick the bins in central darwin in the 80's, think they did a story on him once and he was loaded??
I have not seen that other guy around for years on my visits to Darwin from the Mid 80's to 90's++ that was welll dressed, belt, had a fairly heavy 5 O'clock shadow (dark hair). I used to get a strang look each time I gave a "G'day mate".
Ahh the good old days as a bright eyed bank jonnie living opposite 53 Knucky street guest house. Man what an eye opener.
UncleD

Post by UncleD »

The bag man's name is Gerry....don't know his story but I felt so guilty when I drove past him in the airconditioning that I had to stop and say hello.
My Giddy Aunt!

ghound wrote:There is a bloke getting around on the road between Katherine and Pine Creek at the moment wearing only a pair of red speedo's
Has a tan that any pommie tourist would be proud of. Waves at all the cars as they drive past while skipping along.

Sounds like a similar getup to Adelaides own Johnny Haysman

Ben Jam wrote:
Dundee Hombre wrote:Why doesnt someone now take a picture of the Bag Man that pushes his old style shopping bag thingy on wheels, hes been around as long as Trevor. Walks in from out rural way into Darwin most days then walks back again, in his long rain coat, wet and dry season. Ive seen him in the CBD and out at Noonamah. Fits the bill nicely too.........really!

Oh and the Pigeon Lady doesnt just frequent Darwin either, she doesnt mind Perth and heads there in the wet season you'll find her there in the CDB most days. Sorry I didnt ask her for a picture to post it up on social media.
Its alright DH I got you covered.

He's a strange one alright
18 years ago when the missus and I were parked up in the bus at Coolalinga caravan park he use to live on the lawn in a one man tent and do his walking from there
He use to go up the servo every night and buy a litre of petrol ,god knows what he did with it but he has a condition of some kind as he would go to the tap ever half hour or so and wash his hands or produce a bottle of water and then wash them
He's been around for a while but is harmless

Garrynt

Yah Christine! Funny one that.

What about the fellow who stands at the intersections and just watches the cars go by. Used to call him the watcher..He was at Palm today but also frequents Woolner rd.. tall thin brown hair used to tell me he was doing a phd in this or that..

Once met a bloke in sydney he used to stand near woolies at town hall, just in jeans.. middle of winter and he was there nearly all day everyday . I used to call him crazy jeans boy. I would by him a couple of pies or a cooked chook every time I saw him. And try to talk him into going to the loony bin, he was mad. He never once in three months said a word to me.

He got to the institution and about 4 yrs later he was in darwin eating dinner with a family and recognised me as I walked by

Apparently had a mental break down, somehow ended up in sydney from melbourne and was fed by me for three months till he got treatment

There by the grace of god, go I
barratrooper1

Post by barratrooper1 »

Anyone here from wolongong?
There was a fella near windang, cant remember the name of the suburb, but it was before warilla i think, he used to stand at the traffic lights with the best part of his whole hand in his mouth, and a stick in the other hand pointing straight up.
Was told he had taken a few trips to many.

About 15-20 years ago we doing a new egg layout at woollies in smith street. We had to change the 3-4 bays of eggs with took 3 of us afew hours to do. The pigeon lady comes in after lunch and moved every carton back to its original layout. Every brand and size was back in perfect condition without a single mistake.

I was the rep so they call me back in have crack at making the changes. Once again the pigeon lady turn started moving things back. We were still there so the store manager stopped her. She went off calling us a bunch of nazis and she was escorted from the store. She returned afew more times to change back the layout but they banned her from the store.

From memory she was not known as the pigeon lady back then. The staff at woollies called her the egg lady. She would buy a dozen eggs daily and once past the register she would crack a dozen egg into a jug.

A bit sad thinking back she been on the streets that long.

Used to get a giggle out of seeing her now it's just sad and I have a soft spot for the homeless.

Also heard of a guy in Brisbane, used to walk the streets and raid bins etc, he was apparently a multi millionaire and choose to live on the streets.

She doesnt like men at all! She used to sleep under a board walk all the time at Cullen bay. On occasions we tried to talk to her and give her some left over food and things off the charter but every time she just snapped and lost the plot. When one of the girls tried she was more talkative and didnt seem to freak out.

Just edited a couple of posts speculating on what sent these people to the point they are at, we'll never know the truth and they are not on here to put the record straight, so perhaps it's all better left unsaid, or just said at the pub.

Apologies for meddling, it's an unusual situation.
Finatic2

Post by Finatic2 »

ghound wrote:There is a bloke getting around on the road between Katherine and Pine Creek at the moment wearing only a pair of red speedo's

Hahaha saw this bloke the other side of Katherine a couple of weeks back he look like a full on weirdo, had his speedos wedged like a G'string, mrs and kids thought he was a perve
Fish stories told here....some true !!!

When in doubt...exaggerate !!