redclaw????
-
- Silver Member
redclaw????
Hi all, just wondering if Anyone knows of any spots within a hours drive from darwin whefe you can get redclaw and freshwater prawns,have 4wd to reach tricky spots would love some good feedback
- grumpy
- Jedi Seadog
Re: redclaw????
HAAAAy MAAAAN!! you must be kidding secrets are secrets.
Go down the old 47 mile road till you hit the Adealaide heaps maaaaaan!

-
- Seadog
used to throw pots up the top of rapid creek years ago too see what was there....ended up with shiteloads of em and a stonker cherabin. Dunno bout eating them though.
i know the locals liked em. sometimes found our pots dry and open and the shells around them, caught them in the act once to but didn't really mind seeing as i wasn't gonna eat them.
-
- Jedi Seadog
Scotts creek in dijubringabeer national park
-
- Jedi Seadog
Scotts creek in dijubringabeer(djukbinj) national park
-
the creek running from robinfalls just out of Adelaide River, was there in the dry got about 50 odd in two pots couple of cherrabin too.
-
- Bronze Member
howard river can be alright at times too and it isnt too much of a drive
-
- Seadog
and while on the subject, whats everyones favourite bait to catch these little blighters
- BlueyNT
- Seadog
I've heard, rock melon , sweet potato and normal potato .
Haven't tried any of them yet so cant really say if they work or not .
Soap is supposed to work as well but personally I don't think is a good idea to use soap for environmental reasons.
Kev.
Haven't tried any of them yet so cant really say if they work or not .
Soap is supposed to work as well but personally I don't think is a good idea to use soap for environmental reasons.
Kev.
I'm not young enough to know every thing .
- BlueyNT
- Seadog
Are cherabin /redclaw pots allowed in the NT parks ?shaggs wrote:Scotts creek in dijubringabeer(djukbinj) national park
Kev.
-
- Bronze Member
i usually use servo prawns , not sure why but they just always seem to pull through for me any meat will work though from what i've hearddeano wrote:and while on the subject, whats everyones favourite bait to catch these little blighters
-
- Platinum Member
Use chicken pellets in a stocking soaked in tuna oil, and shaggs
.Cheers for that mate. 
Closest places would be howard river just down from the iron bridge or around the berry springs culverts and
manton dam is full of them,dont need traps for all the spots,a throwin net will do the trick as well.Just find a flat shallow area
and toss in some pellets n leave it for half hour then come back n through the net over them.Have fun.

Closest places would be howard river just down from the iron bridge or around the berry springs culverts and
manton dam is full of them,dont need traps for all the spots,a throwin net will do the trick as well.Just find a flat shallow area
and toss in some pellets n leave it for half hour then come back n through the net over them.Have fun.
- Ben Jam
- Jedi Seadog
Heaps in the howard river. Just don't leave your pot unattended, I would just go with the pellets and the cast net at night.
- BlueyNT
- Seadog
Edit :BlueyNT wrote:Are cherabin /redclaw pots allowed in the NT parks ?shaggs wrote:Scotts creek in dijubringabeer(djukbinj) national park
Kev.
Just called NT parks , pots ,traps and cast nets are a no no in NT parks.
Kev.
-
- Silver Member
I used to go down to the small creek at the back of the shooting club. It was a good spot back in the day but not sure if you can access it now
-