Adelaide River marrakai track.

So with the holidays upon us we loaded up the kids and headed out to the marrakai track today for an afternoon flick .

Stopping at a creek on the way we soon had a dozen perch and tarpon to send out at the crossing. The road out had a few areas to bring the peanuts unstuck but we made it through without any dramas in 2wd :mrgreen:

Once we arrived we began casting a few lures around the eddies and snags in an hour we would have caught 100 barra not one of them legal our standout lures were the 50mm sqidgie in purple white and rapala f5 in brown trout. There were 5 cars there today and everyone was getting fish constantly. The kids had a ball on barra up to 45cm with multiple bites per cast.

We had 3 runs on the livies but failed to hook up on any of them and bought in a scaled and disabled tarpon each time.... . :banghead:

Watched a 6in lifted cruiser head out to the margret and come back with a few 60s and one in the 80s . It was over his bonnet as they ploughed through. Fk that.

Once it got dark we bailed out and headed home. ...usually I fish into the night here and have landed fish in the 90s from the cossing they are usually on the upstream side.

Be careful landing barra around here as we saw a croc in the 3 to 3.5 m range only 10m below the crossing. One of the other fisherman there nailed it with a decent rock and we didn't see it again after that.

kingsley_z

Re: Adelaide River marrakai track.

Post by kingsley_z »

Hi everyone. I caught 100 fish, so here's a photo of two red dots and another photo of some rocks.

unlike some I could not be stuffed posting pics of undersized rats.

Hope u get bogged to the balls kingsley z .....

there's a few good spots for that trick after we sent 4 lifted comp trucks on 35s down there yesterday
kingsley_z

Post by kingsley_z »

Cool story.
bring_it_on

Post by bring_it_on »

Hey Goldfish.did you go from Arnhem entry??

Nah we went in from the stuart hwy past manton.

the worst bits are before lake bennett resort road in some of the smaller creeks. Which can be avoided by coming in via lake bennett. The Crossing was pumping yesterday 1.2m in the hole and may be rising after the rain today otto ck was only 600mm. We were doing 80 to 100 down most of it...

Take another car and snatch straps if you don't have a ground anchor and winch for peace of mind if taking a standard 4wd out. Walking the bad sections of the puddles will show you the good and bad bits . 1min walk saves a hour recovery.

But it'll be stufffed if someone gets bogged or does a huge burnout there too.
Last edited by goldfish on Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hi mate, is this marrakai track sign posted as I wouldn't mind going for a look once it dries up abit.

I think so but didn't take any notice it's the 1st left just past manton substation. it's a dirt road and 20 km from the hwy to the Adelaide river. It's 50 km through to the Arnhem hwy and comes out just before coroboree tav.

Check on google maps for further information.
bring_it_on

Post by bring_it_on »

Cheers Goldfish..Have friends that live on marrakai rd arnhem side and last they told me couldn't even get to margret yet

Thanks goldfish

Cool story

Average puddle out that way.

I'd reckon it's pumping over at the crossing today after the rain.

goldfish wrote:unlike some I could not be stuffed posting pics of undersized rats.

Hope u get bogged to the balls kingsley z .....

there's a few good spots for that trick after we sent 4 lifted comp trucks on 35s down there yesterday

I find the term comp truck a little interesting up here. There must be a whole 4wd competition scene I'm not aware of in darwin. Would love to know more about these comps that these comp trucks run in.
callmejoe

Post by callmejoe »

Try sat night at the Mud Races
It costs nothing to smile.