Who is DOUG? Check out these fish instead!!

Welcome to international visitors. And local members, tell us about your fishing holiday ...
Banjo

Who is DOUG? Check out these fish instead!!

Post by Banjo »

Just moved over to the UK and was a bit sad to miss the runoff but i am more than making up for it just walking around the village!
DSC02196.JPG
DSC02111.JPG
DSC02113.JPG
DSC02155.JPG
DSC02185.JPG
DSC02146.JPG
DSC02149.JPG

Re: Who is DOUG? Check out these fish instead!!

Keep your eye out for Doug over there when your wandering

Wicked fish mate. Looks prehistoric. Nice razor chompers. What type of fish is it? Give you much of a fight?

Cool. Spooky fish!

I think it is a pike of some sort. 2nd fish would be an English Perch or Redfin. One of the delightful introduced species into Australia. Very cool by the way 8)
madseb

Post by madseb »

The first fish is a European pike the grow to 25-30 kg
cards

Post by cards »

Pike & Perch!

Good Fish.
Dear Optimist, Pessimist and Realist, while you guys were busy arguing about the glass of water - I drank it!

Yours sincerely, The Opportunist!

Beautiful fish. My dad has a picture of huge pike he caught as a teenager in the UK, best fish he has caught. When he came to Australia he caught bigger redfin in the Murray River than they had back in the UK where the redfin came from.

Chase some barbel Banjo, supposedly the pinnacle of UK coarse fishing. Although carp seem to have the biggest following, weird eh.

Gotta love UK fishing, you can buy maggots in different colours and sizes at the best bait shops :-)

Well done mate

Matt you get maggots in all different colours and sizes around Darwin here

nice fish there well done

good to see you can just go for a wander and a flick and have a bit of fun

Banjo

Post by Banjo »

Yep they are Pike and Redfin. The pike do fight pretty well and iv been catching them on 8 lb line so its good fun in the canal with no snags around! Seriously aggressive fish when they see your lure, i have nailed every one of them that i have sight cast to. They have a massive gob and have no worries swallowing large lures. Some of them jump like Barra also and slash those teeth around! So far out of 3 half day sessions iv landed 15 Pike and 2 good Perch. Went out for a couple of hours yesterday to try and get one on a big Rapala Skitter Pop and hooked a huge perch but lost him at the bank. Have caught a lot of perch in my time but never on a surface lure! Yes Matt the Barbel look like they would pull pretty hard and they grow to a decent size but the river season is closed for about 3 months and i don't think you get many in the canals. Getting the pike nutted out now so going up to 15 lb line to chase some bigger ones at some more out of the way places.
Banjo

Post by Banjo »

A seriously beautiful animal.
DSC02186.JPG
DSC02153.JPG
DSC02154.JPG
ken_dog

Post by ken_dog »

Nice fish, what's it got to do with Doug?
Banjo

Post by Banjo »

It means stop all the forum bickering and post some fish stories.

Banjo wrote:A seriously beautiful animal.
DSC02186.JPG
DSC02153.JPG
DSC02154.JPG
Any good to eat?